Home > Calendar > Calendar Months

The 12 Months of the Year

A year has 365 days divided into 12 months in the modern day Gregorian calendar. Each month has either 28, 30 or 31 days during the common year.

Nearly every 4 years is a Leap Year when an extra (intercalary) day is added at the end of February, the Leap Day on 29 February.

From 10 to 12 months

The Gregorian calendar and its' predecessor, the Julian calendar both consist of 12 months. The even earlier Roman calendar also had 12 months, but only 10 of the months had names.

Moonrise and moonset in your city

The months of the year originated as a way to mark time and break up the long seasons into shorter periods based on the Moon’s cycle around the Earth . A month is a unit of time that was first used and invented in Mesopotamia to measure the natural period related to the cycle of the moon.

The addition of January and February moved the months September, October, November and December to no longer correspond with their meaning. The months from September through December have names that mean the seventh through tenth months of the Roman calendar.

There are many calendars that use months to divide up the year such as the Islamic calendar, the Hebrew calendar, and the Hindu calendar to just name a few. Although the Gregorian calendar is the most commonly used calendar today, other calendars are still used to calculate certain holidays and annual feasts to correspond with the Gregorian calendar.

Old names of months

Months in the ancient Roman calendar include:

  • Mercedonius - an occasional month after February that would be used to realign the Roman calendar. Today we use Leap Day for this alignment.
  • Quintilis - renamed July in honor of Julius Caesar in 44 BCE.
  • Sextilis - renamed August in honor of Augustus in 8 BCE.

The Twelve Months of the Year

The Gregorian calendar and the Julian calendar both consist of the following twelve months:

  1. January - 31 days
  2. February - 28 days; 29 days in leap years
  3. March - 31 days
  4. April - 30 days
  5. May - 31 days
  6. June - 30 days
  7. July - 31 days
  8. August - 31 days
  9. September - 30 days
  10. October - 31 days
  11. November - 30 days
  12. December - 31 days

How many have 28, 30 or 31 days?

The Gregorian calendar has four months with a length of 30 days and seven months that are 31 days long. February is the only month that is 28 days long in common years and 29 days long in leap years.

Topics: Calendar, Months

In this Article


Months of the Year

  1. January
  2. February
  3. March
  4. April
  5. May
  6. June
  7. July
  8. August
  9. September
  10. October
  11. November
  12. December

Months of the Year

You might also like

The Chinese Calendar

The Chinese calendar is one of the oldest calendars in modern society. It is a lunisolar calendar. more

Leap Day: February 29

2012 is a Leap Year. A Leap Year consists of 366 days where February 29 is added as an extra day at the end of February. The next Leap Day is February 29, 2016 more

Leap Day customs & traditions

Leap Day (February 29) is an intercalary day inserted in a leap year, making every four years or so 366 days long, and not the normal 365. more