Home > Calendar > Holidays > Spain

Holidays in Spain in 2016

DateWeekdayHoliday nameHoliday typeWhere it is observed
Jan 1FridayNew Year's DayNational holiday 
Jan 1FridayFeast of the Holy FamilyObservance 
Jan 6WednesdayEpiphanyNational holiday 
Feb 10WednesdayAsh WednesdayObservance 
Feb 28SundayDay of AndalucíaLocal holidayAndalusia
Feb 29MondayDay of Andalucía (observed)Local holidayAndalusia
Mar 1TuesdayDay of the Balearic IslandsLocal holidayBalearic Islands
Mar 19SaturdaySan JoseCommon Local holidaysAR, CL, CM, EX, GA, M, ML, MU, NA, PV, VC
Mar 20SundayMarch equinoxSeason 
Mar 20SundayPalm SundayObservance 
Mar 24ThursdayMaundy ThursdayCommon Local holidays15 states
Mar 25FridayGood FridayNational holiday 
Mar 27SundayDaylight Saving Time startsClock change/Daylight Saving Time 
Mar 28MondayEaster MondayLocal holidayCT, LO, NA, PV, VC
Mar 28MondayEaster MondayCommon Local holidaysCT, LO, NA, PV, S, VC
Apr 23SaturdayDay of AragónLocal holidayAragon
Apr 23SaturdaySt George's DayLocal holidayCatalonia
Apr 23SaturdayCastile and León DayLocal holidayCastile-Leon
May 1SundayLabor Day / May DayNational holiday 
May 1SundayMothers' DayObservance 
May 2MondayLabor Day observedNational holiday14 states
May 2MondayDay of MadridLocal holidayMadrid
May 15SundayFeast Day of St IsidoreLocal holidayMadrid
May 15SundayWhit Sunday/PentecostObservance 
May 16MondayWhit MondayLocal holidayBarcelona
May 17TuesdayGalicia Literature DayLocal holidayGalicia
May 26ThursdayCorpus ChristiLocal holidayCastile-La Mancha, Madrid
May 30MondayDay of the Canary IslandsLocal holidayCanary Islands
May 31TuesdayCanaries day observedLocal holidayCanary Islands
May 31TuesdayDay of Castile-La ManchaLocal holidayCastile-La Mancha
Jun 9ThursdayDay of MurciaLocal holidayMurcia
Jun 9ThursdayDay of La RiojaLocal holidayLa Rioja
Jun 13MondaySan AntonioLocal holidayCeuta
Jun 20MondayJune SolsticeSeason 
Jun 24FridaySaint John the Baptist DayLocal holidayCatalonia, Galicia
Jul 25MondayLabor Day observedNational holidayLa Rioja
Jul 25MondayFeast of Saint James the ApostleCommon Local holidaysCL, CN, GA, LO, M, M, NA, PV
Jul 28ThursdayDay of the InstitutionsLocal holidayCantabria
Aug 5FridayThe Day of Our Lady of AfricaLocal holidayCeuta
Aug 14SundayThe Day of CantabriaLocal holidayCantabria
Aug 15MondayAssumption of MaryNational holiday 
Sep 2FridayDay of the Independent City of CeutaLocal holidayCeuta
Sep 8ThursdayDay of AsturiasLocal holidayAsturias
Sep 8ThursdayDay of ExtremaduraLocal holidayExtremadura
Sep 8ThursdayVirgin of the VictoryLocal holidayMelilla
Sep 11SundayDay of CataloniaLocal holidayCatalonia
Sep 12MondayEid-al-AdhaLocal holidayMelilla
Sep 13TuesdayEid-al-AdhaLocal holidayCeuta
Sep 15ThursdayNuestra Señora de la Bien AparecidaLocal holidayCantabria
Sep 17SaturdayDay of MelillaLocal holidayMelilla
Sep 22ThursdaySeptember equinoxSeason 
Oct 7Friday80th anniversary of the constitution of the Basque Government in GuernicaLocal holidayBasque Country
Oct 9SundayDay of the Valencian CommunityLocal holidayValencia
Oct 12WednesdayHispanic DayNational holiday 
Oct 30SundayDaylight Saving Time endsClock change/Daylight Saving Time 
Nov 1TuesdayAll Saints' DayNational holidayAll except
Dec 3SaturdayDay of NavarreLocal holidayNavarre
Dec 6TuesdayConstitution DayNational holidayAll except AN, AR, CE, EX, LO, ML, MU, O, VC
Dec 8ThursdayImmaculate ConceptionNational holiday 
Dec 21WednesdayDecember SolsticeSeason 
Dec 24SaturdayChristmas EveObservance 
Dec 25SundayChristmas DayNational holiday 
Dec 26MondayChristmas Day observedCommon Local holidays12 states
Dec 26MondaySt Stephen's DayLocal holidayB, CT, IB, MU
Dec 31SaturdayNew Year's EveObservance 

Create Calendar With Holidays


Other Calendars

Related Links

You might also like

The Doomsday Algorithm

Some dates fall on the same weekday every year. Use this knowledge to calculate the weekday of any date in your head. more

Lotus Temple, Bahai house of worship in New Delhi, India.

Bahá'í Leap Year

The Bahá'í leap year occurs when five extra days are added between the last two months of the calendar. Leap years usually occur every four years. more