Home   Calendar   Holidays   Spain   Epiphany observed
Flag for Spain

Epiphany observed in Spain

Epiphany observed on January 7 is a public holiday in most Spanish regions whenever Epiphany on January 6 is on a Sunday.

Three silhouetted camel riders representing the three magi of the Bible.

The three kings are also called wise men or magi.


Is Epiphany observed a Public Holiday?

If January 6 is on a Sunday, the following Monday is a public holiday in these Spanish regions: Andalucía, Aragón, Asturias, Canarias, Castilla y León, Extremadura, Madrid, Murcia, Navarra, Ceuta, and Melilla.

The Three Kings' Day or Day of the Magi, also known as Epiphany, is a public holiday in all of Spain.

Epiphany observed Observances

YearWeekdayDateNameHoliday TypeArea
2019MonJan 7Epiphany observedCommon local holidayAN, AR, CE, CL, CN, EX, M, ML, MU, NA, O

While we diligently research and update our holiday dates, some of the information in the table above may be preliminary. If you find an error, please let us know.