Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Brazil Postpones DST 2018

Brazil Postpones Beginning of DST (Canceled)


Published 4-Oct-2018. Changed 16-Oct-2018

Update: DST Not Postponed after All

The Brazilian authorities announced on October 15, 2018 that the beginning of Daylight Saving Time (DST) will not be postponed after all. Clocks will be advanced by 1 hour at 00:00 (12:00 midnight) on November 4, 2018, as previously planned.

The following information is therefore outdated.

The Brazilian authorities have moved the beginning of Daylight Saving Time (DST) from November 4 to November 18, 2018 to avoid interference with a nationwide university exam.

Illustration image

University of São Paulo, Brazil

Independence Public Park and Museum Paulista at the University of São Paulo.


Two Weeks Later

According to the announcement, the DST period in Brazil will begin at 00:00 (12:00 midnight) on November 18, 2018. The clock change was initially scheduled for November 4.

Only some parts of Brazil have time changes (see below). Clocks in these areas will be advanced by 1 hour as DST begins.

Avoid Interference with University Exam

The deferral is designed to prevent the clock change from coinciding with the Exame Nacional do Ensino Médio (ENEM), a nationwide high school exam scheduled for November 4-11.

The beginning of DST shortens the night by one hour, resulting in less sleep, potential health risks, and putting even more strain on students trying to prepare for Brazil's most important university entrance exam.

States Using DST in Brazil

Only some Brazilian states observe yearly clock changes. They are:

Time in Brazil

Brazil has four time zones, stretching from UTC-2 to UTC-5 (standard time):

  1. UTC-2: includes areas such as the archipelago of Fernando de Noronha.
  2. UTC-3: this is largest time zone, comprising eastern and central areas, and including all states bordering the Atlantic coast (except some islands), from Pará and Amapá in the north to Rio Grande do Sul in the south; includes the Brazilian Federal District with the capital Brasilia.
  3. UTC-4: includes the states of Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Rondônia, Roraima, and most of Amazonas.
  4. UTC-5: comprises the state of Acre and the westernmost part of Amazonas (west of Tabatinga / Porto Acre).

Current time in


Sunday, December 16, 2018

Current time in


Sunday, December 16, 2018

Current time in
Rio Branco


Sunday, December 16, 2018

You might also like

Look Up for Shooting Stars!

Look Up for Shooting Stars!

Shooting stars from the Geminid Meteor Shower can be seen nearly all over the world. The peak is around December 14 with up to 120 meteors an hour! more

Watch Comet 46P/Wirtanen!

Watch Comet 46P/Wirtanen!

All of December, this comet will be bright enough to spot with the naked eye. Find the comet on our Interactive Night Sky Map and see when and where you can watch it. more

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward 1 hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Business watch and one hundred dollar bill

History of DST

History of Daylight Savings Time (DST). Who invented it and in what year? What is the purpose of having a time change every year and when did Daylight Saving Time start? more