Home   Time Zones   Time in Canada   Canada’s Time Zones

Canada’s Time Zones

timeanddate.com provides brief information about Canada’s time zones.

Canada’s Time Zones

The table below shows the time zones in Canada:

Standard Time ZonesDaylight Saving Time Zones

Newfoundland Standard Time ( NST) = UTC-3:30.

Newfoundland Daylight Time ( NDT) = UTC-2:30.

Atlantic Standard Time ( AST) = UTC-4.

Atlantic Daylight Time ( ADT) = UTC-3.

Eastern Standard Time ( EST) = UTC-5.

Eastern Daylight Time ( EDT) = UTC-4.

Central Standard Time ( CST) = UTC-6.

Central Daylight Time ( CDT) = UTC-5.

Mountain Standard Time ( MST) = UTC-7.

Mountain Daylight Time ( MDT) = UTC-6.

Pacific Standard Time ( PST) = UTC -8.

Pacific Daylight Time ( PDT) = UTC-7.

timeanddate.com has a full list of time zones for North America.

Canada has six time zones, which its provincial and territorial governments regulate. Provincial and territorial governments are also responsible for DST.

Exceptions may exist in certain municipalities. There are a few exceptions to daylight saving time in Canada: some areas of Québec, east of 63 degrees west longitude, remain on Atlantic Standard Time ( AST) all year round; most of Saskatchewan uses Central Standard Time ( CST) all year round; and Southampton Island remains on Eastern Standard Time ( EST) all year long.

Starting in 2007, clocks following the new North American standard for Daylight Saving Time are to be turned forward by one hour on the second Sunday of March and turned back on the first Sunday of November.

These boundaries and changeover dates have serial number 05, broadcast in computer readable form on short wave station CHU along with Canada's official time reference UTC (NRC): Coordinated Universal Time, the modern implementation of Greenwich Time (National Research Council Canada).

The Newfoundland Standard Time ( NST) zone, UTC-3:30, is a unique time zone that exists because of the island’s location and the fact that it was a separate dominion when the time zones were established. The island of Newfoundland lies squarely in the eastern half of the Atlantic Standard Time ( AST) zone. The island is exactly three and a half hours from Greenwich and, as a separate dominion, it had the ability to adopt its own time zone.

Topics: Time Zone


Time Zone Background

  1. History of Time Zones in the UK
  2. How Many Time Zones Are There in Australia?
  3. Canada’s Time Zones

Time Zones index

You might also like

When Is the Equinox?

When Is the Equinox?

The Vernal (Spring) Equinox in the Northern Hemisphere is the Autumnal (Fall) Equinox in the Southern Hemisphere. more

Try the Night Sky Map!

Try the Night Sky Map!

Find and track planets in the sky with our new Interactive Night Sky Map. Point your mobile at the sky to follow an object, or play around with the timeline. more

 Worm Moon in March

Worm Moon in March

The Full Moon in March is the Worm Moon. It is also called Lenten Moon, Crow Moon, Crust Moon, Chaste Moon, Sugar Moon, and Sap Moon. more