Home   Time Zones   World   Germany
Flag for Germany

Time Zones in Germany

11:06:02 am

Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Country: Germany
Long Name: Federal Republic of Germany
Abbreviations: DE, DEU
Capital: Berlin
Time Zones: 1
Dial Code: +49

Time Zone Currently Being Used in Germany

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC +2CESTCentral European Summer TimeBerlinTue, 11:06:02 am

How Many Time Zones Are There in Germany?

There is only one time zone in Germany. Central European Time (CET) is used as standard time, while Central European Summer Time (CEST) is observed when Daylight Saving Time (DST) is in force.

Time Zone Not Currently Being Observed in Germany

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameCommences
UTC +1CETCentral European TimeOct 27, 2024

The above time zone is used during other parts of the year. It will become active again after the next clock change as Daylight Saving Time begins or ends.

Time Zone History of Germany

Germany standardized its civil time in 1893. Until then, solar time was used. In Berlin, this was 53 minutes and 28 seconds ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), which was then the world's time standard.

By advancing clocks across the country by 6 minutes and 32 seconds in 1893, Germany entered the time zone it still uses today. It is 1 hour ahead of the modern-day time standard, Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Did East Germany Have a Different Time Zone?

Between 1949 and 1990, Germany was divided into East and West Germany. However, the political division was not reflected in terms of local time: both areas observed the same time zone.

Tuesday, April 23, 2024