Home   Time Zones   World   Iran
Flag for Iran

Time Zones in Iran

3:59:55 pm

Saturday, August 13, 2022

Country: Iran
Long Name: Islamic Republic of Iran
Abbreviations: IR, IRN
Capital: Tehran
Time Zones: 1
Dial Code: +98

Time Zone Currently Being Used in Iran

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC +4:30IRDTIran Daylight TimeTehranSat, 3:59:55 pm

The Iran Time Zone

Iran uses Iran Standard Time (IRST) as standard time, and Iran Daylight Time (IRDT) during Daylight Saving Time (DST), also known as summer time.

Unlike most time zones, Iran has a half-hour offset instead of the usual full-hour offset: UTC+3:30 during standard time and UTC+4:30 during summer time.

IRST Time Zone Meridian

Iran bases its standard time specifically on the solar time at 52.5° east longitude, which runs about 400 km (250 miles) east of Tehran. The same meridian is used in the Persian Solar Hijri calendar, or Iranian calendar, to set the start of the year, known as Norooz.

DST Dates Based on the Sun

Daylight Saving Time (DST) in Iran starts on 1 Farvardin—the first month in the Solar Hijri calendar, corresponding to March 22 or 23 in the Western Gregorian calendar.

The Iranian calendar is based on Earth's movements around the Sun, and the start of Farvardin is defined as the midnight closest to the March equinox in Iran's time zone IRST.

DST ends on 30 Shahrivar—the sixth month in the Solar Hijri calendar—equivalent to September 21 or 22 in the Gregorian calendar.

Time Zone Not Currently Being Observed in Iran

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameCommences
UTC +3:30IRSTIran Standard TimeSep 21, 2022

The above time zone is used during other parts of the year. It will become active again after the next clock change as Daylight Saving Time begins or ends.

Saturday, August 13, 2022