Home   Time Zones   World   United Kingdom
Flag for United Kingdom

Time Zones in the United Kingdom

10:22:41 am

Monday, August 2, 2021

Country: United Kingdom
Long Name: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Abbreviations: UK, GBR
Capital: London
Time Zones: 1 (Main Country)
Total Time Zones: 10 (with dependencies)
Dial Code: +44

Time Zone Currently Being Used in United Kingdom

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC +1BSTBritish Summer TimeLondonMon, 10:22:41 am

How Many Time Zones Are There in the UK?

The United Kingdom has 1 standard time zone. The overseas territories and crown dependencies of the UK bring the total to 9 time zones.

Time Zone Not Currently Being Observed in United Kingdom

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameCommences
UTC +0GMTGreenwich Mean TimeOct 31, 2021

The above time zone is used during other parts of the year. It will become active again after the next clock change as Daylight Saving Time begins or ends.

Time Zones Being Used in Dependencies of United Kingdom

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameDependencyTypeCurrent Time
UTC -8PSTPitcairn Standard TimePitcairn IslandsOverseas territoryMon, 1:22:41 am
UTC -5ESTEastern Standard TimeCayman IslandsOverseas territoryMon, 4:22:41 am
UTC -4ASTAtlantic Standard TimeAnguillaOverseas territoryMon, 5:22:41 am
ASTAtlantic Standard TimeBritish Virgin IslandsOverseas territoryMon, 5:22:41 am
ASTAtlantic Standard TimeMontserratOverseas territoryMon, 5:22:41 am
EDTEastern Daylight TimeTurks and Caicos IslandsOverseas territoryMon, 5:22:41 am
UTC -3ADTAtlantic Daylight TimeBermudaOverseas territoryMon, 6:22:41 am
FKSTFalkland Islands Summer TimeFalkland IslandsOverseas territoryMon, 6:22:41 am
UTC -2GSTSouth Georgia TimeSouth Georgia/Sandwich Is.Overseas territoryMon, 7:22:41 am
UTC +0GMTGreenwich Mean TimeSaint HelenaOverseas territoryMon, 9:22:41 am
UTC +1BSTBritish Summer TimeGuernseyCrown dependencyMon, 10:22:41 am
BSTBritish Summer TimeIsle of ManCrown dependencyMon, 10:22:41 am
BSTBritish Summer TimeJerseyCrown dependencyMon, 10:22:41 am
UTC +2CESTCentral European Summer TimeGibraltarOverseas territoryMon, 11:22:41 am
UTC +6IOTIndian Chagos TimeBritish Indian Ocean TerritoryOverseas territoryMon, 3:22:41 pm

History of Time Zones in the UK

The United Kingdom was one of the 1st countries to use a standard time for the whole country, instead of each place keeping its own local mean time.

The UK's capital, London, changed from London Time to Greenwich Mean Time in 1847.

GMT, or Railway Time, as it was known then, was first used by the UK's railway companies. Until 1972, GMT set the standard for standard for civil time worldwide. It referred to solar time at the prime meridian, which runs near the Royal Observatory in Greenwich. Today's world time standard, Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), is still located on the prime meridian (0°longitude).

United Kingdom
Monday, August 2, 2021