Home > Time Zones > Abbreviations > EET – Eastern European Time

EET – Eastern European Time (Standard Time)

Time zone map of EET
Currently observing EET.
Areas with same time currently (UTC +2:00).
Currently observing EET – Eastern European Time.
Currently has same time zone offset as EET (UTC +2:00) but different time zone name.

Eastern European Time (EET) is 2 hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). This time zone is a standard time zone and is used in: Europe, Asia, Africa.

See full time zone map

Summer Time & DST

Some places observe daylight saving time/summer time during the summer, and therefore use EEST (Eastern European Summer Time) in the summer.

Email time zone indicator: +0200

An email sent from someone in the Eastern European Time (EET) time zone will have the time zone listed as "+0200" in the headers of the email. (However, "+0200" does not have to be in Eastern European Time, as other time zones could have the same UTC offset).

Where and when is EET observed?


European countries using EET in the winter and EEST in the summer

  • Bulgaria
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Greece
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Moldova
  • Romania
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine

Areas and locations in Russia using EET all year

  • Kaliningrad


Asian countries/territories using EET in the winter and EEST in the summer

  • Cyprus
  • Gaza Strip
  • Lebanon
  • Syria
  • West Bank


African countries using EET all year

  • Egypt
  • Libya

Other time zones in UTC +2:00

Some time zones exist that have the same offset as EET, but can be found under a different name:

EET time now


Thursday, November 26, 2015

  • EET will be observed in Bucharest until Mar 27, 2016 at 3:00 AM
  • EET will be observed in Beirut until Mar 27, 2016 at 12:00 AM
  • UTC Offset: UTC +2:00
  • 7 hours ahead of Washington DC

Find current time and time zone by city


Other names

OEZ – Osteuropäische Zeit (German)

Example cities

Romania – Bucharest (Winter)
Lebanon – Beirut (Winter)
Egypt – Cairo (All Year)

Related time zones

EEST – Eastern European Summer Time (Daylight Time)

Time Zone Map with DST

Time zone map

Time Zone Map

Time zones by continent/region

See all Time zone abbreviations

Time zones Tools