How Many Time Zones in Australia?

Australia has multiple time zones. Some of them are half-hour and quarter-hour time zones. Not all states and territories use DST.

Old penal settlement in Kingston, Norfolk Island, Australia.

Kingston, Norfolk Island, Australia.

From October 4, 2015, Norfolk Time (NFT) on Norfolk Island, Australia, will be 11 hours ahead of UTC.


Australia’s Daylight Saving Time

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is synchronized across the states and territoris which use DST:

  • Australian Capital Territory.
  • New South Wales.
  • South Australia.
  • Tasmania.
  • Victoria.

DST October to April

DST starts at 2:00 (2 am) on first Sunday of October, when the clocks move forward by one hour to 3:00 (3 am) local time. DST ends at 3:00 (3 am) when the clocks move back to 2:00 (2 am) local time on the first Sunday of April. Western Australia, Queensland and the Northern Territory do not observe DST.

Not Without Controversy

Daylight Saving Time (DST) has been implemented within Australia in various forms since the early 1900s. DST in Australia has a long history mainly because the responsibility for setting time zones and DST lies with state and territory authorities. Commonwealth power on weights and measures in the Australian constitution extends to the measurement of time but whether it has power to legislate about time is not free from doubt, according to Australia’s Parliamentary Library.

In Queensland and Western Australia, DST was observed in the past, but is no longer in use. One example was the Western Australian DST referendum in 2009.

Australia’s Main Time Zones:

Northern Territory: UTC +9:30

Eucla: UTC +8:45

South Australia: UTC +9:30 / +10:30

Broken Hill: UTC +9:30 / +10:30

Lord Howe Island: UTC +10:30 / +11:00

Cocos (Keeling) Islands: UTC +06:30

Topics: Time Zone

Time Zone Map With DST

Time Zone Map


Time Zone Library

  1. What is a Time Zone?
  2. How Many Time Zones Are There?
  3. Half Hour & 45 Minute Time Zones
  4. What is Standard Time?
  5. What's the International Date Line?
  6. When Were Time Zones Introduced?
  7. USA Time Zones
  8. UK's Time Zones: GMT and BST
  9. Canada's Time Zones
  10. Australia’s Time Zones
  11. Antarctica's Time Zones

Time Zones Worldwide

Time Zones Worldwide

Time Zone Tools

Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)


Thursday, August 25, 2016

UTC is the common time standard across the world

More about UTC

You might also like

GMT or BST in the UK?

The UK is not on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) all year. During Daylight Saving Time the correct time zone is British Summer Time (BST). more

Time Zones and DST in Europe

Europe is divided into 4 main time zones that span from UTC +0 hours in western European countries to UTC +3 hours in Belarus and parts of Russia. more

UTC & GMT – Same Difference?

Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) is often interchanged or confused with Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). But GMT is a time zone and UTC is a time standard. more