Home   News   Time Zone News   Brazil ends DST on Sunday, February 22, 2015

Brazil ends DST on Sunday, February 22, 2015

Clocks in southern Brazilian states will be turned back by 1 hour at midnight between Saturday, February 21 and Sunday, February 22, 2015 as the Daylight Saving Time (DST) period ends in the South American country.

Illustration image

Brazil: Clocks will fall back on Feb 22, 2015.

Brazil's DST switch in more detail

Upcoming DST changes worldwide

DST Will Not Be Extended

Recently, the Brazilian government considered elongating the Daylight Saving Time period by one month. However, the plans have now been discarded, so DST will end as planned.

States Affected by the Switch

Time in Brazil

Brazil has four time zones, stretching from UTC-2 to UTC-5 (standard time):

  1. UTC-2: includes areas such as the archipelago of Fernando de Noronha.
  2. UTC-3: this is largest time zone, comprising eastern and central areas, and including all states bordering the Atlantic coast (except some islands), from Pará and Amapá in the north to Rio Grande do Sul in the South; includes the Brazilian Federal District with the capital Brasilia.
  3. UTC-4: includes the states of Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Rondônia, Roraima, and most of Amazonas.
  4. UTC-5: comprises the state of Acre and the westernmost part of Amazonas (west of Tabatinga / Porto Acre).