Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Colorado keeps switching

Colorado keeps switching


Published 18-Apr-2011

Coloradoans will have to keep "springing forward" and "falling back".

Illustration image

Coloradoans will have to keep "springing forward" and "falling back".

©iStockphoto.com/Joe Belanger

A bill to observe daylight saving time year-round in Colorado has been rejected by the Senate Appropriations Committee on Friday, April 15, 2011. A similar bill had been put on indefinite hold in February 2011.

Sun sets on DST bill

Republican Senator Greg Brophy's proposal to abolish the yearly switch between standard and daylight saving time had been met by fierce resistance from day one. It's biggest adversary was the ski industry whose representatives claimed that the measure would kill business on winter mornings.

It had nonetheless been unanimously approved by the Senate Agriculture, Natural Resources and Energy committee on March 16. However, the Senate Appropriations Committee now rejected the idea. "The sun just set on my bill", Sen. Brophy said after the vote.

Colorado’s Time Zone

Colorado is on Mountain Standard Time (MST), or UTC-7, during the non-daylight saving period. The state observes Mountain Daylight Time (MDT), or UTC-6, during daylight saving time. It follows the United States’ daylight saving schedule.

DST in many parts of the United States – including Colorado – lines up with section 110 of the United States’ Energy Policy Act of 2005, which states that daylight saving time begins on the second Sunday of March and ends on the first Sunday of November. The law also grants individual states and territories the right to opt out of using daylight saving time.


You might also like

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Illustration of fingers changing the time on a wristwatch.

1 Hour Ahead or Back?

Which way do the clocks go? "Spring forward or fall back" is just one way to remember which way set the clocks for Daylight Saving Time (DST). more

Business watch and one hundred dollar bill

History of DST

History of Daylight Savings Time (DST). Who invented it and in what year? What is the purpose of having a time change every year and when did Daylight Saving Time start? more