Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Jordan remains on DST

Jordan remains on Summer Time


Published 25-Oct-2012

Jordan's government has canceled the switch from Daylight Saving Time to Standard Time this year. The Middle Eastern country was originally set to turn the clocks back 1 hour on Friday, October 26, 2012. However, with the new decision made on Wednesday, October 24, Jordanians will remain on Daylight Saving Time (DST), which is UTC+3.

Jordan's capital, Amman, with the Raghadan Flagpole.

Jordan's capital, Amman, with the Raghadan Flagpole.

©iStockphoto.com/Diego Lopez de Haro

The cancelation of the switch to Standard Time – also known as "Winter Time" – on only three days' notice, means that people who have already had tickets issued to fly with Royal Jordanian (RJ), to and from Jordanian airports, between Oct. 26, 2012 and March 30, 2013, will have to add 1 hour to the departure and/or arrival time mentioned on their tickets.

International times unaffected

According to offical sources, Royal Jordanian stressed that there will be no change in international departure or arrival times on any of their flights.

The company also pointed out that any ticket issued after 5pm (17:00) on Thursday Oct. 25, 2012 (3pm, or 15:00 UTC) will have taken the amended time into consideration and the passengers are to follow the flight time on these tickets.


Current time in


Tuesday, November 20, 2018

You might also like

Look Up for Shooting Stars!

Look Up for Shooting Stars!

The Leonid meteor shower is active now and peaks on Nov 17/18. Use our Interactive Meteor Shower Sky Map to see when and where to best see these shooting stars. more

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward 1 hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Business watch and one hundred dollar bill

History of DST

History of Daylight Savings Time (DST). Who invented it and in what year? What is the purpose of having a time change every year and when did Daylight Saving Time start? more

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

What Time Zone is Indiana?

The US state Indiana has 2 time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. Daylight Saving Time (DST) has been used since 2006. more