Home   Calendar   Holidays   Malaysia   Diwali/Deepavali
Flag for Malaysia

Diwali/Deepavali in Malaysia

Diwali is also known as Deepavali, Dipavali, Dewali, Deepawali, or the Festival of Lights. It is celebrated in October or November each year. Diwali celebrations can last for about five days.

Is Diwali/Deepavali a Public Holiday?

Diwali/Deepavali is a public holiday in 16 states, where it is a day off for the general population, and schools and most businesses are closed.

Lanterns for the Diwali celebrations.


About Diwali/Deepavali

Read more about Diwali/Deepavali.

Diwali/Deepavali Observances

Holiday currently only shown for years 2015–2020.

YearWeekdayDateNameHoliday TypeArea
2015TueNov 10Diwali/DeepavaliCommon local holidayAll except SWK
2016SatOct 29Diwali/DeepavaliCommon local holidayAll except SWK
2017WedOct 18Diwali/DeepavaliCommon local holidayAll except SWK
2018TueNov 6Diwali/DeepavaliCommon local holidayAll except SWK
2019SunOct 27Diwali/DeepavaliCommon local holidayAll except SWK
2019MonOct 28Diwali/DeepavaliCommon local holidayAll except JHR, KDH, KTN, TRG
2020SatNov 14Diwali/DeepavaliCommon local holidayAll except SWK

We diligently research and continuously update our holiday dates and information. If you find a mistake, please let us know.

You might also like

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Calendar with 12 months

12 Months of the Year

The 12 months of the year are linked to the Moon's orbit around Earth. Why are there 12 months? What do the month names mean? more