Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Time Zone Changes in Antarctica in 2010

Time Zone Changes in Antarctica in 2010


Published 10-Mar-2010

The Australian Antarctic Division is seeing some time changes as the southern hemisphere’s winter period approaches in 2010.

Mawson Station from the air, showing Horseshoe Harbour

View of Antarctic Division; Mawson station

Pictured above is a view of the Australian Antarctic Division's Mawson station, which remains on UTC+5.]

Casey station already went back to being on UTC+8 on March 5, 2010, while Davis Station changes its time to UTC+7 on March 10, 2010. Mawson station will continue to stay on UTC+5.

Macquarie Island station will not follow Tasmania in ending daylight saving time (DST). Instead, it will remain on Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT), which is 11 hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), or UTC+11.Many parts of Australia will end DST on Sunday, April 4, 2010.

Casey Station Back on UTC+8

Casey station reverted to its normal time of UTC+8 on Friday, March 5, 2010. The change to UTC+11 is being considered as a regular summer arrangement but no decision has been made yet on this option. On October 18, 2009, the station moved three hours forward from UTC+8, to UTC+11. Casey station is located in the Windmill Islands just outside the Antarctic Circle.

Davis Station Reverts to UTC+7

Davis station will revert to its usual time of UTC+7 at 8pm (20:00) UTC on March 10, 2010. On October 18, 2009, the station moved two hours back from UTC+7 to UTC+5. Davis station is the most southerly Australian Antarctic station.

Macquarie Island Remains on UTC+11

Instead of following Tasmania in ending DST, Macquarie Island station will remain on UTC+11 (AEDT) and will not end DST when other parts of Australia end DST on Sunday, April 4, 2010. In the past, Macquarie Island station would observe the same daylight saving schedule as Hobart, in Tasmania. Tasmania is on Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST), or UTC+10, during the non-daylight saving period and on AEDT, or UTC+11, when it observes DST.

No Time Change for Mawson

Mawson station will remain on UTC+5 throughout the southern hemisphere’s winter period. Mawson station, which is on an outcrop of rock on the coast in Mac Robertson Land at the edge of the Antarctic plateau, moved its time zone one hour back from UTC+6 to UTC+5 on October 18, 2009.

The future status of the Australian Antarctic Division stations’ time zones remains to be under review.

In This Article


You might also like

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

UTC – Coordinated Universal Time

Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) is the basis for civil time today. This 24-hour time standard is kept using highly precise atomic clocks combined with the Earth's rotation. more