Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   DST starts Brazil 2014

DST starts in Brazil Sunday, October 19, 2014


Published 13-Oct-2014

On Sunday, October 19, 2014, clocks in parts of Brazil will be set forward one hour from 0:00 (12 am, midnight) to 01:00 (1 am) local time as Daylight Saving Time (DST) starts.

Illustration image

DST in Brazil will start on Oct, 19, 2014.

Time Zones in Brazil: The striped areas observe DST. The green, yellow and blue areas do not observe DST.

Carnival Postpones DST End

Sunday, February 22, 2015, is the end of DST in Brazil. The DST switch is postponed by one week because of Carnival. Normally the end of DST in Brazil is the third Sunday in February.

Calendar with holidays Brazil

Brazilian states with DST in 2014/15

Four Time Zones in Brazil

Brazil has four time zones, stretching from UTC-2 to UTC-5 (standard time).

Interactive Time Zone Map

  1. UTC-2: includes areas such as the archipelago of Fernando de Noronha.
  2. UTC-3: this is largest time zone, comprising eastern and central areas, and including all states bordering the Atlantic coast (except some islands), from Pará and Amapá in the north to Rio Grande do Sul in the South; includes the Brazilian Federal District with the capital Brasilia.
  3. UTC-4: includes the states of Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Rondônia, Roraima, and most of Amazonas.
  4. UTC-5: comprises the state of Acre and the westernmost part of Amazonas (west of Tabatinga / Porto Acre).

Upcoming DST changes worldwide

Current time in


Monday, January 21, 2019

In This Article


You might also like

Try Our iOS Eclipse App

Try Our iOS Eclipse App

With our Solar & Lunar Eclipses app for iOS you have all you need to get ready for the total lunar eclipse on January 20-21 in one free app. more

 Total Eclipse Supermoon

Total Eclipse Supermoon

The Wolf Moon, the Full Moon on January 20-21, 2019, is a Supermoon, making it look bigger and brighter than usual during the total lunar eclipse. more

Free 2019 Calendars to Print

Free 2019 Calendars to Print

Easy-to-use free printable Calendar PDF for over 220 countries. Make blank calendars or include holidays or events before saving, sharing, or printing. more