Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Pakistan ends DST on November 1, 2009

Pakistan ends DST on November 1, 2009


Published 17-Sep-2009. Changed 29-Sep-2009

Pakistan will end its daylight saving time (DST) at midnight (00:00) between Saturday, October 31, and Sunday, November 1, 2009, which will see the clocks move back by one hour.

Jehangir Kothari Parade, Clifton, Karachi.

Jehangir Kothari, Pakistan

Towns and cities in Pakistan, including Karachi (Jehangir Kothari Parade pictured above) may soon turn the clocks back by one hour.

©iStockphoto.com/Danish Khan

The nation originally planned to end its DST schedule at midnight between September 30 and October 1 but the end date has been changed. timeanddate.com received confirmation from the Ministry of Water and Power and the Pakistan Electric Power Company (PEPCO) about the amended date to end DST.

Pakistan’s DST

Pakistan began daylight saving time at midnight (00:00) between April 14 and April 15, 2009, when the clocks moved one hour forward from being five hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC+5 hours) to UTC+6 hours. DST was applied in Pakistan in 2009 as a way to save energy throughout the nation.

Pakistan’s national government received mixed reactions from business communities and the general public throughout the DST period. A petition against the daylight saving policy was dismissed at the Lahore High Court earlier in 2009. PEPCO also responded to the petition, stating that DST benefited the country.

Several news sources originally announced that Pakistan would end its DST schedule at midnight (00:00) between September 30 and October 1, 2009. timeanddate.com contacted the Ministry of Water and Power on September 25, 2009, which was prior to when the government decided to amend the DST end date. A spokesperson said at the time that the above-mentioned DST end date was correct. timeanddate.com contacted the ministry again, as well as PEPCO, on September 29, 2009. Spokespeople from both the ministry and PEPCO confirmed that the end date was shifted to November 1, 2009. The PEPCO spokesperson said that the government decided that the clocks would move back to Pakistan Standard Time at midnight (00:00) between October 31 and November 1, 2009.

Moreover, some sources reported that the Pakistan government decided to start DST on April 15 and end DST on November 1 on an annual basis.

Pakistan’s Time Zone

Pakistan is on UTC +5 hours during the non-daylight saving period and moves the clocks one hour forward to UTC +6 hours during the daylight saving period. These are the hours that have been set for Pakistan’s daylight saving arrangement in previous years.


You might also like

Try the Night Sky Map!

Try the Night Sky Map!

Find and track planets in the sky with our new Interactive Night Sky Map. Point your mobile at the sky to follow an object, or play around with the timeline. more

February: Snow Moon

February: Snow Moon

The February Full Moon is named after the snow on the ground. This year, the Snow Moon is also a Supermoon. more

When Is the Equinox?

When Is the Equinox?

The Vernal (Spring) Equinox in the Northern Hemisphere is the Autumnal (Fall) Equinox in the Southern Hemisphere and vice versa. more