Home   News   Time Zone News   DST in US & Canada 2013

Sunday, March 10: Daylight Saving Time Begins in USA & Canada

The United States and Canada will begin this year's Daylight Saving Time (DST) period on Sunday, March 10, 2013. Millions of people will have to turn their clocks one hour ahead from 2am (02:00) to 3am (03:00) local time. Some areas in the United States and Canada do not observe DST.

A map of time zones and DST in the US and Canada.
A map of time zones and DST in the US and Canada.

DST map of the US and Canada. The striped areas will begin DST on Sunday, March 10, 2013


Clocks in areas that follow DST will be returned to standard time on November 3, 2013 at 2am (02:00) local time.

DST dates Worldwide — first half of 2013

DST dates Worldwide — second half of 2013

Areas exempt from DST

While most U.S. states and territories use DST during part of the year, some areas will not follow the switch:

Colorado and Utah reject DST bills

Areas that do not observe DST in Canada include:

Europe starts DST Sunday, March 31

Australia & New Zealand end DST on April 7, 2013

Mexican Border Cities follow U.S.

Mexico’s northern border cities, like Juarez City (Ciudad Juárez), will follow the United States' DST schedule. However, most of Mexico, including the capital Mexico City, will set their clocks 1 hour forward 4 weeks later, on Sunday, April 7, 2013.

Other Countries starting DST on March 10, 2013

A number of other countries and territories will also begin observing DST on the same date. Click on the links to find out local times for the switch: