Home   News   Time Zone News   DST in U.S. & Canada 2014

Sunday, March 9, 2014: DST starts in USA and Canada

On Sunday, March 9, 2014, most of the United States, Canada, and Mexico's northern border cities will spring forward and start Daylight Saving Time (DST). Millions of people will turn their clocks 1 hour ahead from 2am (02:00) to 3am (03:00) local time. Parts of the U.S. and Canada do not have DST.

A map of time zones and DST in the US and Canada.
A map of time zones and DST in the US and Canada.

U.S. & Canada DST Map: the striped areas in these 2 countries will start DST on Sunday, March 9, 2014.


Europe starts DST Sunday, March 30, 2014

Find the best time to call across time zones

Clocks spring forward

Most Americans and Canadians set their clocks 1 hour forward on the second Sunday in March and move the clocks 1 hour back on the first Sunday in November each year.

Areas that follow DST will fall back to standard time at 2am (02:00) local time on Sunday, November 2, 2014.

Areas exempt from DST

While most U.S. states and territories use DST during part of the year, some areas will not follow the switch:

Areas that do not observe DST in Canada include:

Lawmakers in Florida recently proposed to keep the state on DST all-year-round, while bills have been promoted to stop Tennessee and Utah from adjusting clocks for DST. So far, no decisions have been finalized on these proposals.

Mexican border cities follow U.S.

Mexico’s northern border cities, like Juarez City (Ciudad Juárez), will follow the United States' DST schedule. However, most of Mexico, including the capital Mexico City, will set their clocks 1 hour forward on Sunday, April 6, 2014.

Other Countries starting DST on March 9, 2014

Some countries and territories will also start DST on the same date as the U.S. and Canada. Find out local times for the switch:

DST dates Worldwide — first half of 2014

DST dates Worldwide — second half of 2014