Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Europe Starts DST 2014

March 30, 2014: Europe starts Daylight Saving Time


Published 20-Feb-2014

Most European countries will begin observing Daylight Saving Time (DST) in the early morning of Sunday, March 30, 2014, when clocks will be
advanced by one hour. The precise time of the switch differs from country to country.

Illustration image

Time Zones and DST in Europe: The striped areas will begin DST on March 30, 2014.

US & Canada start DST Sunday, March 9, 2014

Where is DST observed?

Clocks will be advanced by one hour in:

The following countries will not switch to DST:

DST dates worldwide - first half of 2014

DST dates worldwide - second half of 2014

This year, Turkey will begin DST at 3:00 a.m. (03:00) local time on Monday, March 31, instead of March 30 as previously expected.

When will clocks be advanced?

The DST period in Europe runs from 01:00 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) on the last Sunday of March to 01:00 UTC on the last Sunday of October every year. As Europe spans 5 time zones, the local times for the switch vary:

Time ZoneLocal Time of DST SwitchNotes

Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), observed in countries including the United Kingdom and Ireland;

Western European Time (WET), observed in Portugal, Faroe Islands and the Canary Islands.

UTC offset (Standard Time / DST):
None / UTC +1 hr

DST starts at 1am (01:00) local time, when clocks move one hour forward to 2am (02:00).

The United Kingdom and Ireland do not observe GMT during daylight saving time.

Central Europe Time (CET), observed in countries including France, Germany, Austria, Italy, Switzerland, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, and Spain.

UTC offset (Standard Time / DST):
UTC +1 hr / UTC +2 hrs

DST starts at 2am (02:00) local time, when clocks move forward to 3am (03:00).


Eastern European Time (EET), observed in countries including Bulgaria, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Latvia, Romania, and Ukraine.

UTC offset (Standard Time / DST):
UTC + 2 hrs / UTC +3 hrs

DST starts at 3am (03:00) local time, when clocks move forward to 4am (04:00).

Eastern European Summer Time (EEST), observed year-round in Kaliningrad (Russia) and Belarus.

UTC offset:
UTC + 3 hrs

No DST switch

Belarus abolished seasonal time change in 2011.

Most of the western parts of Russia are in the Moscow time zone, Moscow Standard Time (MSK).

UTC offset:
UTC + 4 hrs

No DST switch

Russia currently observes DST year-round.
The country may revert to "winter time" in 2014.

More details about Europe’s time zones and DST schedule, as well as a brief history of DST in Europe can be found on our website.


You might also like

Look Up for Shooting Stars!

Look Up for Shooting Stars!

Shooting stars from the Geminid Meteor Shower can be seen nearly all over the world. The peak is around December 14 with up to 120 meteors an hour! more

Watch Comet 46P/Wirtanen!

Watch Comet 46P/Wirtanen!

All of December, this comet will be bright enough to spot with the naked eye. Find the comet on our Interactive Night Sky Map and see when and where you can watch it. more

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward 1 hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

What Time Zone is Indiana?

The US state Indiana has 2 time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. Daylight Saving Time (DST) has been used since 2006. more