When Year 2021 Starts Around the World

With 38 different local times in use, it takes 26 hours for the New Year to encompass all time zones. Find out in which order they enter 2021 and which countries are first and last.

Scroll right to see more
 Baker Island
Time is
Countries Going Into Year 2021
at This Point in Time

Cities Entering Year 2021
Wed 10:00 pmSamoa and Christmas Island/KiribatiKiritimati, Apia, Salelologa (Savai'i)
Wed 10:15 pmChatham Islands/New ZealandChatham Islands
Wed 11:00 pmNew Zealand with exceptions and 5 moreAuckland, Suva, Wellington, Nukualofa
Thu 12:00 midnightSmall region of Russia and 7 moreAnadyr, Funafuti, Yaren, Tarawa, Majuro
Thu 1:00 amMuch of Australia and 6 moreMelbourne, Sydney, Canberra, Honiara
Thu 1:30 amSmall region of AustraliaAdelaide, Broken Hill, Ceduna
Thu 2:00 amQueensland/Australia and 6 moreBrisbane, Port Moresby, Hagåtña
Thu 2:30 amNorthern Territory/AustraliaDarwin, Alice Springs, Tennant Creek
Thu 3:00 amJapan, South Korea and 5 moreTokyo, Seoul, Pyongyang, Dili, Ngerulmud
Thu 3:15 amWestern Australia/AustraliaEucla
Thu 4:00 amChina, Philippines and 11 moreBeijing, Hong Kong, Manila, Singapore
Thu 5:00 amMuch of Indonesia, Thailand and 7 moreJakarta, Bangkok, Hanoi, Phnom Penh
Thu 5:30 amMyanmar and Cocos IslandsYangon, Naypyidaw, Mandalay, Bantam
Thu 6:00 amBangladesh and 6 moreDhaka, Almaty, Bishkek, Thimphu
Thu 6:15 amNepalKathmandu, Pokhara, Biratnagar, Dharan
Thu 6:30 amIndia and Sri LankaNew Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Bangalore
Thu 7:00 amPakistan and 8 moreTashkent, Islamabad, Lahore, Karachi
Thu 7:30 amAfghanistanKabul, Kandahar, Mazari Sharif, Herat
Thu 8:00 amAzerbaijan and 8 moreDubai, Abu Dhabi, Muscat, Port Louis
Thu 8:30 amIranTehran, Rasht, Esfahãn, Mashhad, Tabriz
Thu 9:00 amMoscow/Russia and 22 moreMoscow, Ankara, Baghdad, Nairobi
Thu 10:00 amGreece and 31 moreCairo, Athens, Bucharest, Johannesburg
Thu 11:00 amGermany and 45 moreBrussels, Madrid, Paris, Rome, Algiers
Thu 12:00 noonUnited Kingdom and 24 moreLondon, Dublin, Lisbon, Accra, Reykjavik
Thu 1:00 pmCabo Verde and 2 morePraia, Ponta Delgada, Ittoqqortoormiit
Thu 2:00 pmPernambuco/Brazil and South Georgia/Sandwich Is.King Edward Point, Fernando de Noronha
Thu 3:00 pmMost of Brazil, Argentina and 9 moreBuenos Aires, Rio de Janeiro, Santiago
Thu 3:30 pmNewfoundland and Labrador/CanadaSt. John's, Mary's Harbour
Thu 4:00 pmSome regions of Canada and 28 moreCaracas, La Paz, San Juan, Santo Domingo
Thu 5:00 pmRegions of USA and 14 moreNew York, Washington DC, Detroit, Havana
Thu 6:00 pmRegions of USA and 9 moreMexico City, Chicago, Guatemala City
Thu 7:00 pmSome regions of USA and 2 moreCalgary, Denver, Edmonton, Phoenix
Thu 8:00 pmRegions of USA and 4 moreLos Angeles, San Francisco, Las Vegas
Thu 9:00 pmAlaska/USA and regions of French PolynesiaAnchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau, Unalaska
Thu 9:30 pmMarquesas Islands/French PolynesiaTaiohae
Thu 10:00 pmSmall region of USA and 2 moreHonolulu, Rarotonga, Adak, Papeete
Thu 11:00 pmAmerican Samoa and 2 moreAlofi, Midway, Pago Pago
Fri 12:00 midnightMuch of US Minor Outlying IslandsBaker Island, Howland Island

Above is a chronological list of when the world's different countries arrive at midnight on New Year's Eve and enter January 1, 2021

The times can be changed to any time zone by clicking on the icon in the first column.