When Year 2018 Starts Around the World

With 39 different local times in use, it takes 26 hours for the New Year to encompass all time zones. Find out in which order they enter 2018 and which countries are first and last.

Scroll right to see more
Time is
Countries Going Into Year 2018
at This Point in Time

Cities Entering Year 2018
Sun 9:00 pmTonga and 2 moreKiritimati, Nukualofa, Apia, Neiafu
Sun 9:15 pmChatham Islands/New ZealandChatham Islands
Sun 10:00 pmNew Zealand with exceptions and 4 moreAuckland, Suva, Wellington, Fakaofo
Sun 11:00 pmSmall region of Russia and 6 moreAnadyr, Funafuti, Yaren, Tarawa, Majuro
Mon 12:00 midnightMuch of Australia and 8 moreMelbourne, Sydney, Canberra, Honiara
Mon 12:30 amSmall region of AustraliaAdelaide, Broken Hill, Ceduna
Mon 1:00 amQueensland/Australia and 6 moreBrisbane, Port Moresby, Hagåtña
Mon 1:30 amNorthern Territory/AustraliaDarwin, Alice Springs, Tennant Creek
Mon 2:00 amJapan, South Korea and 4 moreTokyo, Seoul, Dili, Ngerulmud, Yakutsk
Mon 2:15 amWestern Australia/AustraliaEucla
Mon 2:30 amNorth KoreaPyongyang, Hamhung, Chongjin, Namp’o
Mon 3:00 amChina, Philippines and 10 moreBeijing, Hong Kong, Manila, Singapore
Mon 4:00 amMuch of Indonesia, Thailand and 7 moreJakarta, Bangkok, Hanoi, Phnom Penh
Mon 4:30 amMyanmar and Cocos IslandsYangon, Naypyidaw, Mandalay, Bantam
Mon 5:00 amBangladesh and 6 moreDhaka, Almaty, Bishkek, Thimphu, Astana
Mon 5:15 amNepalKathmandu, Pokhara, Biratnagar, Dharan
Mon 5:30 amIndia and Sri LankaNew Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Bengaluru
Mon 6:00 amPakistan and 8 moreTashkent, Islamabad, Lahore, Karachi
Mon 6:30 amAfghanistanKabul, Kandahar, Mazari Sharif, Herat
Mon 7:00 amAzerbaijan and 8 moreDubai, Abu Dhabi, Muscat, Port Louis
Mon 7:30 amIranTehran, Rasht, Esfahãn, Mashhad, Tabriz
Mon 8:00 amMoscow/Russia and 24 moreMoscow, Ankara, Baghdad, Khartoum
Mon 9:00 amGreece and 30 moreCairo, Athens, Bucharest, Johannesburg
Mon 10:00 amGermany and 43 moreBrussels, Madrid, Paris, Rome, Algiers
Mon 11:00 amUnited Kingdom and 26 moreLondon, Casablanca, Dublin, Lisbon, Accra
Mon 12:00 noonCabo Verde and 2 morePraia, Ponta Delgada, Ittoqqortoormiit
Mon 1:00 pmRegions of Brazil and South Georgia/Sandwich Is.Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo, Brasilia
Mon 2:00 pmArgentina, regions of Brazil and 9 moreBuenos Aires, Santiago, Asuncion
Mon 2:30 pmNewfoundland and Labrador/CanadaSt. John's, Mary's Harbour
Mon 3:00 pmSome regions of Canada and 29 moreCaracas, La Paz, San Juan, Santo Domingo
Mon 4:00 pmRegions of USA and 13 moreNew York, Washington DC, Detroit, Havana
Mon 5:00 pmRegions of USA and 9 moreMexico City, Chicago, Guatemala City
Mon 6:00 pmSome regions of USA and 2 moreCalgary, Denver, Edmonton, Phoenix
Mon 7:00 pmRegions of USA and 4 moreLos Angeles, San Francisco, Las Vegas
Mon 8:00 pmAlaska/USA and regions of French PolynesiaAnchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau, Unalaska
Mon 8:30 pmMarquesas Islands/French PolynesiaTaiohae
Mon 9:00 pmSmall region of USA and 2 moreHonolulu, Rarotonga, Adak, Papeete
Mon 10:00 pmAmerican Samoa and 2 moreAlofi, Midway, Pago Pago
Mon 11:00 pmMuch of US Minor Outlying IslandsBaker Island, Howland Island

Above is a chronological list of when the world's different countries arrive at midnight on New Year's Eve and enter January 1, 2018

The times can be changed to any time zone by clicking on the icon in the first column.