When Year 2018 Starts Around the World

With 39 different local times in use, it takes 26 hours for the New Year to encompass all time zones. Find out in which order they enter 2018 and which countries are first and last.

Scroll right to see more
Time is
Countries Going Into Year 2018
at This Point in Time

Cities Entering Year 2018
Sun 2:30 pmTonga and 2 moreKiritimati, Nukualofa, Apia, Neiafu
Sun 2:45 pmChatham Islands/New ZealandChatham Islands
Sun 3:30 pmNew Zealand with exceptions and 4 moreAuckland, Suva, Wellington, Fakaofo
Sun 4:30 pmSmall region of Russia and 6 moreAnadyr, Funafuti, Yaren, Tarawa, Majuro
Sun 5:30 pmMuch of Australia and 8 moreMelbourne, Sydney, Canberra, Honiara
Sun 6:00 pmSmall region of AustraliaAdelaide, Broken Hill, Ceduna
Sun 6:30 pmQueensland/Australia and 6 moreBrisbane, Port Moresby, Hagåtña
Sun 7:00 pmNorthern Territory/AustraliaDarwin, Alice Springs, Tennant Creek
Sun 7:30 pmJapan, South Korea and 4 moreTokyo, Seoul, Dili, Ngerulmud, Yakutsk
Sun 7:45 pmWestern Australia/AustraliaEucla
Sun 8:00 pmNorth KoreaPyongyang, Hamhung, Chongjin, Namp’o
Sun 8:30 pmChina, Philippines and 10 moreBeijing, Hong Kong, Manila, Singapore
Sun 9:30 pmMuch of Indonesia, Thailand and 7 moreJakarta, Bangkok, Hanoi, Phnom Penh
Sun 10:00 pmMyanmar and Cocos IslandsYangon, Naypyidaw, Mandalay, Bantam
Sun 10:30 pmBangladesh and 6 moreDhaka, Almaty, Bishkek, Thimphu, Astana
Sun 10:45 pmNepalKathmandu, Pokhara, Biratnagar, Dharan
Sun 11:00 pmIndia and Sri LankaNew Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Bengaluru
Sun 11:30 pmPakistan and 8 moreTashkent, Islamabad, Lahore, Karachi
Mon 12:00 midnightAfghanistanKabul, Kandahar, Mazari Sharif, Herat
Mon 12:30 amAzerbaijan and 8 moreDubai, Abu Dhabi, Muscat, Port Louis
Mon 1:00 amIranTehran, Rasht, Esfahãn, Mashhad, Tabriz
Mon 1:30 amMoscow/Russia and 24 moreMoscow, Ankara, Baghdad, Khartoum
Mon 2:30 amGreece and 30 moreCairo, Athens, Bucharest, Johannesburg
Mon 3:30 amGermany and 43 moreBrussels, Madrid, Paris, Rome, Algiers
Mon 4:30 amUnited Kingdom and 26 moreLondon, Casablanca, Dublin, Lisbon, Accra
Mon 5:30 amCabo Verde and 2 morePraia, Ponta Delgada, Ittoqqortoormiit
Mon 6:30 amRegions of Brazil and South Georgia/Sandwich Is.Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo, Brasilia
Mon 7:30 amArgentina, regions of Brazil and 9 moreBuenos Aires, Santiago, Asuncion
Mon 8:00 amNewfoundland and Labrador/CanadaSt. John's, Mary's Harbour
Mon 8:30 amSome regions of Canada and 29 moreCaracas, La Paz, San Juan, Santo Domingo
Mon 9:30 amRegions of USA and 13 moreNew York, Washington DC, Detroit, Havana
Mon 10:30 amRegions of USA and 9 moreMexico City, Chicago, Guatemala City
Mon 11:30 amSome regions of USA and 2 moreCalgary, Denver, Edmonton, Phoenix
Mon 12:30 pmRegions of USA and 4 moreLos Angeles, San Francisco, Las Vegas
Mon 1:30 pmAlaska/USA and regions of French PolynesiaAnchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau, Unalaska
Mon 2:00 pmMarquesas Islands/French PolynesiaTaiohae
Mon 2:30 pmSmall region of USA and 2 moreHonolulu, Rarotonga, Adak, Papeete
Mon 3:30 pmAmerican Samoa and 2 moreAlofi, Midway, Pago Pago
Mon 4:30 pmMuch of US Minor Outlying IslandsBaker Island, Howland Island

Above is a chronological list of when the world's different countries arrive at midnight on New Year's Eve and enter January 1, 2018

The times can be changed to any time zone by clicking on the icon in the first column.