Home   News   Time Zone News   Australia and New Zealand start the 2013—2014 DST period

Australia and New Zealand start the 2013—2014 DST period

Time Zones in Australia and New Zealand.

Time Zones in Australia and New Zealand: The orange and yellow striped areas observe DST. Blue stripes indicate areas with odd UTC offsets (no DST).


Australia and New Zealand are about to begin this year's daylight saving time (DST) period. In New Zealand, DST will come into force on Sunday, September 29, 2013. Clocks in Australia will be advanced by 1 hour on Sunday, October 6, 2013.

Upcoming DST changes worldwide

Do they observe DST at the South Pole?

DST begins in Australia

On October 6, 2013, the following areas of Australia will turn their clocks ahead 1 hour from 2 a.m. (02:00) to 3 a.m. (03:00) local time:

As in past years, daylight saving time will not come into force in the following areas:

Australia consists of several time zones. The specified DST switch times refer to the local time in each time zone. This means, for example, that the switch occurs half an hour later in Adelaide (Australian Central Standard Time, UTC+9:30 hours) than in Sydney (Australian Eastern Standard Time, UTC+10 hours).

DST begins in New Zealand

Daylight saving time in mainland New Zealand will begin on September 29, 2013, when clocks will spring forward from 2 a.m. (02:00) to 3 a.m. (03:00) local time. This includes the following locations:

The Chatham Islands, which constitute the only land mass covered by New Zealand's second time zone, will begin observing DST at 2:45 a.m. (02:45) local time. Clocks there will also be advanced by 1 hour, to 3:45 a.m. (03:45).

When will DST end again?

Both Australia and New Zealand will end this season's DST period on April 6, 2014.

The Daylight Saving Time schedule in Australia runs from the first Sunday in October to the first Sunday in April each year. In New Zealand, DST is observed from the last Sunday in September to the first Sunday in April.