Home   Time Zones   Time in Australia   Lord Howe Island’s Time

Lord Howe Island’s Time

Lord Howe Island, which belongs to Australia, is 10 hours and 30 minutes ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) when it is not on Daylight Saving Time (DST).

View over Lord Howe Island, Australia.

Lord Howe Island is 30 minutes ahead of Sydney.

Lord Howe Island is 30 minutes ahead of Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) when it is not on Daylight Saving Time.

©iStockphoto.com/Mark Burdett Photography

Go to Lord Howe Island's time page

Australia’s Lord Howe Island is 10 hours and 30 minutes ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (or UTC+10:30) when it is not on Daylight Saving Time (DST).

The island is part of the Australian state of New South Wales and is located about 600km (about 373 miles) northeast of Sydney.

Time Zones in Australia

Two Time Zones

Lord Howe Island’s time zones are Lord Howe Standard Time (LHST) to UTC+11 Lord Howe Daylight Time (LHDT) during DST.

LHST is 30 minutes ahead of Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST), when it is not on DST. The island moves its clocks half an hour (or 30 minutes) forward to UTC+11, which is Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT), when it is on DST.

Time Act from 1987

New South Wales’ time keeping, which includes the time for Lord Howe Island, is controlled by the Standard Time Act 1987. This Act prescribes that Lord Howe Island’s standard time UTC+10:30. The previous Standard Time Act 1971 officially prescribed this time zone.

History of Lord Howe Island’s Time

There is a written note in government records that indicates that Lord Howe Island’s practice of maintaining a 30-minute difference with mainland New South Wales was observed as early as 1904, according to a government source. This exact evidence, however, has not been located. DST operated nationally in Australia during World War I from January 1, 1917, to March 25, 1917. DST in Australia operated during World War II, as follows:

  • From January 1, 1942, to March 29, 1942.
  • From September 27, 1942, to March 28, 1943.
  • From October 3, 1943, to March 26, 1944 (except Western Australia).

Lord Howe Island previously moved the clock forward by a full hour during DST when the schedule was reintroduced under the Standard Time Act 1971. A referendum on DST in New South Wales (which Lord Howe Island is part of) was held on May 1, 1976. Most voters favored daylight saving time to be adopted on a permanent basis. The island observed the normal one-hour DST during the 1970s. However, this changed during the early 1980s when a governor’s order stated that DST on Lord Howe Island would be 30 minutes ahead of AEST, thus being on the same time zone as many parts of New South Wales when the state observes DST.

The island’s community was never united on the matter of having a half-hour DST and many community consultations occurred, including referenda in 1988 and 2000. Many residents voted to be on the same time as mainland New South Wales during DST by remain 30 minutes ahead of its standard time during the DST schedule.

Note: timeanddate.com would like to thank the Lord Howe Island Board and the New South Wales Attorney-General’s Department for some of the information for this article.

Current time in
Lord Howe Island


Saturday, May 27, 2017


Time Zone Library

  1. What Is a Time Zone?
  2. How Many Time Zones Are There?
  3. What Is Standard Time?
  4. Half Hour & 45 Minute Time Zones
  5. What's the International Date Line?
  6. Why Do We Have Time Zones?

Time Zones Worldwide

Time Zones Worldwide

Time Zone Map With DST

Time Zone Map

You might also like

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

What Time Zone is Indiana?

The US state Indiana has 2 time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. Daylight Saving Time (DST) has been used since 2006. more

GMT or BST in the UK?

The UK is not on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) all year. During Daylight Saving Time the correct time zone is British Summer Time (BST). more