Home > Time Zones > Time Zone News > Australia’s Daylight Saving Starts on October 4, 2009

Australia’s Daylight Saving Starts on October 4, 2009


Published 29-Sep-2009

Melbourne skyline at sunset under a beautiful mauve sky.
Australia’s DST Starts on October 4, 2009
Melbourne is among some of the cities in Australia that will observe daylight saving time on Sunday, October 4, 2009.
©iStockphoto.com/Linda & Colin McKie

Many places in Australia will observe daylight saving time (DST) on Sunday, October 4, 2009, when the clocks move one hour forward from 2am (02:00) to 3am (03:00) local time. This coincides with the Labour Day* long weekend in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales and South Australia in 2009.

Synchronized DST Schedule

The following states and territory observe DST in Australia:

  • Australian Capital Territory.
  • New South Wales.
  • South Australia.
  • Tasmania.
  • Victoria.

DST is synchronized across these states and territory. The DST schedule in these parts of Australia begins at 2am (02:00) on first Sunday of October, when the clocks move forward by one hour to 3am (03:00) local time. DST ends at 3am (03:00) when the clocks move back to 2am (02:00) local time on the first Sunday of April. Australia’s DST schedule will end on Sunday, April 4, 2010. Lord Howe Island also observes DST.

Places Without DST

Western Australia no longer observes DST after a proposal to continue the state’s DST trial was rejected in a referendum in May 2009. Queensland and the Northern Territory do not observe daylight saving.

Many people living in the Gold Coast region, in south-east Queensland, pushed for DST in south-east Queensland. Many people living on one side of the Queensland-New South Wales border in this area split their time schedules if their school, work or other commitments are on the other side of the border. One of the affected towns at the heart the border includes Tweed Heads. Various community leaders and politicians have commented about this issue but nothing has been done.

Time Zones

Mainland Australia has three time zones:

  • Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST), which is 10 hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC+10). AEST applies to: New South Wales except Yancowinna County, which includes the city of Broken Hill; Victoria; Queensland; Tasmania; and the Australian Capital Territory. During daylight saving time, AEST becomes Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) and clocks are advanced to UTC+11. Not all states (eg. Queensland) in eastern Australia observe daylight saving time.
  • Australian Central Standard Time (ACST), which is UTC+9:30, and applies to: South Australia; the Northern Territory; and Yancowinna County, which includes the city of Broken Hill, in New South Wales. During daylight saving time, ACST becomes Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT), and clocks are advanced to UTC +10:30. The Northern Territory does not observe daylight saving time.
  • Australian Western Standard Time (AWST), which is UTC+8, and applies to Western Australia.

Many South Australian businesses pushed for the state to follow AEST in the non-daylight saving period and AEDT during daylight saving time so they could be in more line with business operating hours in Australia’s eastern regions. However, this time zone change has not occurred.

Note: The Labour Day long-weekend in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, and South Australia for 2009 includes Sunday, October 4, but the day itself is on Monday, October 5, 2009.

In This Article


Time Zones Worldwide

You might also like

London, United Kingdom - March 6, 2015: Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, modern financial district of the city.

Daylight Saving Time – DST

Daylight Saving Time aka Daylight Savings Time, DST or Summer Time. Clocks go forward 1 hour in the spring and back in the fall to make better use of natural daylight. more

GMT or BST in the UK?

The UK is not on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) all year. During Daylight Saving Time the correct time zone is British Summer Time (BST). more

One Hour Ahead or Back?

Which way do the clocks go? "Spring forward or fall back" is just one way to remember which way set the clocks for Daylight Saving Time (DST). more

Daylight Savings or Saving?

“Daylight saving time” is the correct term, but “Daylight savings time” with an “s” is at least as commonly used. more