Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Brazil ends DST on February 16, 2014

Brazil ends DST on February 16, 2014


Published 3-Feb-2014

The Daylight Saving Time (DST) period in Brazil will soon come to an end. Clocks in many regions of the South American country will be turned back by 1 hour at midnight between Saturday, February 15 and Sunday, February 16, 2014. Only the southern states observe DST.

Illustration image

Time zones and DST in Brazil: In the striped areas, clocks will be turned back on February 16, 2014.

The Brazil DST switch in more detail

Upcoming DST changes worldwide

States affected by the switch

Brazil time zone news

While there have been no changes in the rules governing seasonal time change in Brazil since the current DST period began, the state of Acre and parts of Amazonas switched time zones on November 10, 2013. Read more

Time in Brazil

Brazil has four time zones, stretching from UTC-2 to UTC-5 (standard time):

  1. UTC-2: includes areas such as the archipelago of Fernando de Noronha.
  2. UTC-3: this is largest time zone, comprising eastern and central areas, and including all states bordering the Atlantic coast (except some islands), from Pará and Amapá in the north to Rio Grande do Sul in the South; includes the Brazilian Federal District with the capital Brasilia.
  3. UTC-4: includes the states of Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Rondônia, Roraima, and most of Amazonas.
  4. UTC-5: comprises the state of Acre and the westernmost part of Amazonas (west of Tabatinga / Porto Acre).

In This Article


You might also like

Try Our iOS Eclipse App

Try Our iOS Eclipse App

With our Solar & Lunar Eclipses app for iOS you have all you need to get ready for the total lunar eclipse on January 20-21 in one free app. more

 Total Eclipse Supermoon

Total Eclipse Supermoon

The Wolf Moon, the Full Moon on January 20-21, 2019, is a Supermoon, making it look bigger and brighter than usual during the total lunar eclipse. more

Free 2019 Calendars to Print

Free 2019 Calendars to Print

Easy-to-use free printable Calendar PDF for over 220 countries. Make blank calendars or include holidays or events before saving, sharing, or printing. more