Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Kazakhstan Changes Time Zone

Kazakhstan: Qyzylorda Changes Its Time Zone


Published 21-Dec-2018

Kazakhstan's Qyzylorda (Kyzylorda) region has recently changed its time zone from UTC+6 to UTC+5.

Illustration image

Presidential residence in Astana, Kazakhstan

Presidential residence in Astana, the capitial of Kazakhstan.


Changed December 21

Clocks in the Qyzylorda region in southern Kazakhstan, including the region's capital city of the same name, were turned back by 1 hour at midnight between December 20 and December 21.

Qyzylorda Joins Western Kazakhstan

Before the change, Qyzylorda observed UTC+6, together with eastern parts of the country, which include Astana, the capital of Kazakhstan, and Almaty, the country's largest city. Now, the region has moved to UTC+5, joining western regions of Kazakhstan, including the cities of Aqtobe and Oral.

The official announcement confirming the time zone change was published just days before the measure took effect.

Time in Kazakhstan

Kazakhstan is the world's largest landlocked country, covering over 40° of longitude from its western to its eastern border. While its geographical dimensions would warrant using three or four time zones, the country is currently divided into only two:

  1. Western regions observe UTC+5. Time zone names include AQTT, ORAT, and now QYZT.
  2. Eastern and central regions observe ALMT, which is UTC+6.

Kazakhstan's eastern neighbor, China, covers even more ground from east to west, but it observes only one time zone.


Current time in


Wednesday, January 23, 2019

Current time in


Wednesday, January 23, 2019

You might also like

Try Our iOS Eclipse App

Try Our iOS Eclipse App

With our Solar & Lunar Eclipses app for iOS you have all you need to get ready for the total lunar eclipse on January 20-21 in one free app. more

 Total Eclipse Supermoon

Total Eclipse Supermoon

The Wolf Moon, the Full Moon on January 20-21, 2019, is a Supermoon, making it look bigger and brighter than usual during the total lunar eclipse. more

Free 2019 Calendars to Print

Free 2019 Calendars to Print

Easy-to-use free printable Calendar PDF for over 220 countries. Make blank calendars or include holidays or events before saving, sharing, or printing. more