Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Ukraine: Separatists in Luhansk and Donetsk move to Moscow Time

Ukraine: Separatists in Luhansk and Donetsk move to Moscow Time


Published 24-Oct-2014

The “Luhansk People's Republic”, a self-proclaimed separatist state in eastern Ukraine will switch to Moscow Time at 03:00 (3:00 a.m.) on Sunday, October 26, 2014. It is likely that the “Donetsk People's Republic” will follow suit.

Illustration image

Protest against the Ukraine-Russia conflict.

This protester demands the end of hostilities between Ukraine and Russia.

No clock change

There will be no clock change in the eastern Ukrainian areas as they join the Moscow time zone. The time there will remain 3 hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). Ukraine, including its capital Kyiv, currently observes Eastern European Summer Time (EEST), which is 3 hours ahead of UTC. At the time of the switch, Ukraine will fall back to UTC +2 hours while Moscow will go from UTC +4 to UTC +3 as Russia moves from Daylight Saving Time (DST) to permanent standard time.

Closer to Russia

The move is designed to bring eastern Ukraine closer to Russia. In an ongoing secession crisis, pro-Russian rebels seized parts of the country's eastern and southern areas. Crimea already moved its clocks to Moscow Time as Russia annexed the peninsula in March 2014.

The “Luhansk People's Republic” comprises the southern part of Luhansk oblast; the “Donetsk People's Republic” covers the eastern areas of Donetsk oblast.

Current time in


Tuesday, July 16, 2019

Current time in


Tuesday, July 16, 2019

Current time in


Tuesday, July 16, 2019


You might also like

Lunar Eclipse 16–17 July

Lunar Eclipse 16–17 July

This partial lunar eclipse, the last lunar eclipse of 2019, is visible from Australia, Africa, South America, most of Europe and Asia. more

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

Time Zones in Indiana

In Indiana, USA, there are are two time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. All counties set their clocks one hour to and from Daylight Saving Time (DST) twice a year. Indiana time zone map with local time in each county. more

GMT or BST in the UK?

The UK is not on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) all year. During Daylight Saving Time the correct time zone is British Summer Time (BST). more

LIVE PARTIAL LUNAR ECLIPSE – Watch the eclipse as it happens