Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Metlakatla to Follow Alaskan Time

Metlakatla to Follow Alaskan Time


Published 10-Nov-2015

Metlakatla, Alaska will observe the same local time as the rest of the state from now on. On November 1, 2015, the community turned its clocks back 1 hour from Pacific Standard Time (PST) to Alaska Standard Time (AKST).

Illustration image

Juneau, Alaska's capital.

Metlakatla will observe the same local time as Alaska's capital, Juneau.


Time Zone Rebel

Until recently, Metlakatla observed PST year-round. Most of Alaska observes AKST as standard time and Alaska Daylight Time (AKDT) when Daylight Saving Time (DST) is in force.

  • PST and AKDT are 8 hours behind UTC
  • AKST is 9 hours behind UTC

This meant that clocks in Metlakatla were 1 hour ahead of the state's standard time, but the local times matched while Alaska was on DST.

Same Time Zone as Most of AK

From now on, there will be no time difference between Metlakatla and most of Alaska, including locations like Juneau, Anchorage, and Fairbanks.

The switch on November 1 was the first clock change in Metlakatla since 1983.

Metlakatla's local time in past and future

Alaska's Only Indian Reservation

Metlakatla is a community with about 1300 inhabitants. It lies on Annette Island, which is on the southern tip of Alaska's panhandle and close to the Canadian border. Annette Island and surrounding islands are Alaska's only Indian reservation.

Time in Alaska

Most of the state observes AKST (UTC-9) as standard time and AKDT (UTC-8) as Daylight Saving Time. This includes the state capital, Juneau.

Parts of the Aleutian Islands in the far west of the state switch between HAST (UTC-10) and HADT (UTC-9).

The southern Alaskan town of Hyder unofficially observes PST (UTC-8) and PDT (UTC-7) to be in sync with neighboring city of Stewart, British Columbia.

Interactive Time Zone Map


Current time in


Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Current time in


Wednesday, November 14, 2018

You might also like

Look Up for Shooting Stars!

Look Up for Shooting Stars!

The Leonid meteor shower is active now and peaks on Nov 17/18. Use our Interactive Meteor Shower Sky Map to see when and where to best see these shooting stars. more

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward 1 hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

What Time Zone is Indiana?

The US state Indiana has 2 time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. Daylight Saving Time (DST) has been used since 2006. more