Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Morocco changes its DST schedule

Morocco changes its DST schedule


Published 3-Jul-2013

Morocco has extended the suspension of daylight saving time (DST) for Ramadan in 2013.

Illustration image

Dates and coffee are often served at the end of the day during Ramadan.


DST ends 2 days before Ramadan

The Moroccan government has recently announced that the country will return to standard time at 3:00 a.m. (03:00) on Sunday, July 7, 2013 local time. Clocks will be turned back one hour. DST will resume again at 2:00 a.m. (02:00) on Saturday, August 10, 2013, when one hour will be added again to the local time.

The end and resumption of DST was originally planned to coincide with the beginning and end of Ramadan, which lasts from July 9 to August 8, 2013.

Morocco's updated 2013 DST schedule in detail

Like several other countries, Morocco switches back to standard time during the month of Ramadan. The interruption in the DST schedule is designed to shorten evenings, making it easier for Muslims to observe the Ramadan fast during hours of daylight.

Time in Morocco

Standard time in Morocco is Western European Time (WET), which is the same as UTC. When DST is in force, the country observes Western European Summer Time (WEST), which is one hour ahead of UTC.


You might also like

Look Up for Shooting Stars!

Look Up for Shooting Stars!

Shooting stars from the Geminid Meteor Shower can be seen nearly all over the world. The peak is around December 14 with up to 120 meteors an hour! more

Watch Comet 46P/Wirtanen!

Watch Comet 46P/Wirtanen!

All of December, this comet will be bright enough to spot with the naked eye. Find the comet on our Interactive Night Sky Map and see when and where you can watch it. more

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward 1 hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

UTC – Coordinated Universal Time

Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) is the basis for civil time today. This 24-hour time standard is kept using highly precise atomic clocks combined with the Earth's rotation. more