Home   Time Zones   World   Brazil
Flag for Brazil

Time Zones in Brazil

Multiple Time Zones

Country: Brazil
Long Name: Federative Republic of Brazil
Abbreviations: BR, BRA
Capital: Brasilia
Time Zones: 4
Dial Code: +55

Time Zones Currently Being Used in Brazil

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC -5ACTAcre TimeRio BrancoFri, 11:14:34 pm
UTC -4AMTAmazon TimeManausSat, 12:14:34 am
UTC -3BRTBrasília TimeSão PauloSat, 1:14:34 am
UTC -2FNTFernando de Noronha TimeFernando de NoronhaSat, 2:14:34 am

Four Brazil Time Zones

There are four standard time zones in Brazil. They are, from west to east: Acre Time (ACT), Amazon Time (AMT), Brasília Time (BRT), and Fernando de Noronha Time (FNT).

Deviations from BRT

Even though the time zones have designated names, time zones in Brazil are often referred to as deviations from Brasília Time (BRT):

Most People Live In BRT

Brasília Time (BRT) is the time zone used on the east coast of Brazil and is considered the main time zone in the country. Around 90% of Brazil's population lives in the BRT time zone. It covers 21 of Brazil's 27 states, including the metropolitan areas Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo.

Saturday, February 24, 2024