Home   Time Zones   World   New Zealand
Flag for New Zealand

Time Zones in New Zealand

6:55:40 am *

Wednesday, August 4, 2021

* Most of New Zealand

Country: New Zealand
Abbreviations: NZ, NZL
Capital: Wellington
Time Zones: 2 (Main Country)
Total Time Zones: 3 (with dependencies)
Dial Code: +64

Time Zones Currently Being Used in New Zealand

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC +12NZSTNew Zealand Standard TimeAucklandWed, 6:55:40 am
UTC +12:45CHASTChatham Island Standard TimeChatham IslandsWed, 7:40:40 am

How Many Time Zones Are There in New Zealand?

New Zealand's 2 main islands, North Island and South Island, both lie in the same time zone. The Chatham Islands, located about 860 kilometers (534 miles) east of Christchurch, have a separate time zone, which is 45 minutes ahead of mainland New Zealand.

Tokelau, an archipelago in the Pacific and a dependency of New Zealand, brings the total to 3 time zones.

Because Tokelau does not use Daylight Saving Time (DST), there are only 2 corresponding DST time zones.

Time Zones Not Currently Being Observed in New Zealand

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameCommences
UTC +13NZDTNew Zealand Daylight TimeSep 26, 2021
UTC +13:45CHADTChatham Island Daylight TimeSep 26, 2021

The above time zones are used during other parts of the year. They will become active again after the next clock change as Daylight Saving Time begins or ends.

In the country's mainland, New Zealand Standard Time (NZST) is used as standard time, while New Zealand Daylight Time (NZDT) is observed during DST.

The Chatham Islands use Chatham Island Standard Time (CHAST) as standard time, while Chatham Island Daylight Time (CHADT) is observed during the DST period.

Time Zones Being Used in Dependencies of New Zealand

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameDependencyTypeCurrent Time
UTC +13TKTTokelau TimeTokelauTerritoryWed, 7:55:40 am

The New Zealand dependency of Tokelau has no Daylight Saving Time (DST).

History of Time Zones in New Zealand

New Zealand was one of the 1st countries in the world to officially adopt a nationally observed standard time. New Zealand Mean Time, adopted on November 2, 1868, was 11 hours and 30 minutes ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

In 1941, during World War II, clocks were set forward 30 minutes, increasing New Zealand's offset from GMT to 12 hours. The time change was made permanent by the Standard Time Act 1945.

In 1974, 2 years after Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) was set as the international time standard, New Zealand Standard Time (NZST) was officially defined as UTC+12 in the Time Act 1974.

New Zealand
Wednesday, August 4, 2021