Home   Time Zones   World   USA   Alaska
Flag for Alaska

Time Zones in Alaska, United States

2:05:34 am *

Thursday, June 13, 2024

* Most of Alaska

State: Alaska
Abbreviation: AK
State Capital: Juneau
Country: United States
Time Zones: 2

Time Zones Currently Being Used in Alaska

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC -9HDTHawaii-Aleutian Daylight TimeAdakThu, 1:05:34 am
UTC -8AKDTAlaska Daylight TimeAnchorageThu, 2:05:34 am

How Many Time Zones Are There in Alaska?

Almost all of Alaska observes Alaska Standard Time (AKST) with the corresponding Daylight Saving Time (DST) designation Alaska Daylight Time (AKDT).

Parts of the Aleutian Islands, 2740 kilometers (1703 miles) west of the state capital Juneau, use Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HAST) and Hawaii-Aleutian Daylight Time (HADT) during DST.

Time Zones Not Currently Being Observed in Alaska

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameCommences
UTC -10HSTHawaii Standard TimeNov 3, 2024
UTC -9AKSTAlaska Standard TimeNov 3, 2024

The above time zones are used during other parts of the year. They will become active again after the next clock change as Daylight Saving Time begins or ends.

Thursday, June 13, 2024