Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Australia and New Zealand DST 2012

Australia and New Zealand Daylight Saving Time 2012


Published 17-Sep-2012

Daylight saving time (DST) starts in Australia (except some areas) on Sunday, October 7, 2012, when clocks spring forward 1 hour from (02:00) local time to 3am (03:00). New Zealand started DST one week earlier on Sunday, September 30, 2012.

Harbour Bridge in Sydney, Australia

Sydney will start DST on Sunday, October 7, 2012, along with many other Australian cities.


Where do the clocks turn?

These places will start Daylight Saving Time in the early hours of Sunday, October 7, 2012:

Australians in these areas do not observe DST:

Upcoming DST changes world wide

DST ends again in Australia and New Zealand on Sunday, 7 April 2013

Clocks spring forward in these places in the early hours of Sunday, September 30, 2012:

Several Time Zones

Australia has different time zones due to its large geographical size.

Meeting Planner - Find the best time to call across time zones

What does DST mean in Australia?

Australians who welcome DST see many advantages, such as having more afternoon daylight for outdoor activities, which could be a boost to tourism. On the other hand, there are those would prefer not to have DST due to health concerns and other reasons.

There was a push for DST in both Queensland and Western Australia in recent years but both states said “No” to daylight saving time.

"Daylight savings" and "Summer Time"

Some media refer to daylight saving time as “daylight savings time” or "summer time". However, “daylight saving time” is considered to be correct.

In This Article


You might also like

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Illustration of fingers changing the time on a wristwatch.

1 Hour Ahead or Back?

Which way do the clocks go? "Spring forward or fall back" is just one way to remember which way set the clocks for Daylight Saving Time (DST). more

Business watch and one hundred dollar bill

History of DST

History of Daylight Savings Time (DST). Who invented it and in what year? What is the purpose of having a time change every year and when did Daylight Saving Time start? more