Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Brazil Changes DST Start from 2018

Brazil Changes DST Start from 2018


Published 18-Dec-2017

Lawmakers in Brazil have decided to move the start of Daylight Saving Time (DST) from 2018, effectively shortening the DST-period in the country by two weeks.

View of traffic on street next to Congresso Nacional (National Congress) building in Brasilia, capital of Brazil.

National Congress in Brasilia, Brazil.

View of traffic on the street next to Congresso Nacional (National Congress) building in Brasilia, capital of Brazil.


On the night between Saturday, November 3 and Sunday, November 4, 2018 clocks in the southern parts of Brazil will be set forward 1 hour from 00:00 (12:00 am, midnight) to 01:00 (1:00 am).

Same End Date

On December 16, 2017, the president of Brazil, Michel Temer, signed a decree (in Portuguese) moving the start of DST in the South American country from October to November.

The new decree states that clocks will be set forward 1 hour at midnight of the first Sunday of November of each year until midnight of the third Sunday of February the following year, according to several Brazilian news sources.

Better for the Elections

The decree comes as a result of federal elections in Brazil in October next year. Setting the clocks forward after the second round of elections allows for a better vote count after the poll stations close in the different time zones in the country.

States Using DST in Brazil

Currently the states of São Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Distrito Federal, Santa Catarina, Paraná, Goiás, Rio Grande do Sul, Mato Grosso Do Sul, Espírito Santo, Minas Gerais, and Mato Grosso (some exceptions) use DST.

Time in Brazil

Brazil has four time zones, stretching from UTC-2 to UTC-5 (standard time):

  1. UTC-2: includes areas such as the archipelago of Fernando de Noronha.
  2. UTC-3: this is largest time zone, comprising eastern and central areas, and including all states bordering the Atlantic coast (except some islands), from Pará and Amapá in the north to Rio Grande do Sul in the South; includes the Brazilian Federal District with the capital Brasilia.
  3. UTC-4: includes the states of Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Rondônia, Roraima, and most of Amazonas.
  4. UTC-5: comprises the state of Acre and the westernmost part of Amazonas (west of Tabatinga / Porto Acre).

Current time in


Wednesday, October 23, 2019


You might also like

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Calendar with 12 months

12 Months of the Year

The 12 months of the year are linked to the Moon's orbit around Earth. Why are there 12 months? What do the month names mean? more

Business watch and one hundred dollar bill

History of DST

History of Daylight Savings Time (DST). Who invented it and in what year? What is the purpose of having a time change every year and when did Daylight Saving Time start? more

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

Time Zones in Indiana

In Indiana, USA, there are are two time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. All counties set their clocks one hour to and from Daylight Saving Time (DST) twice a year. Indiana time zone map with local time in each county. more