Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Brazil Won't Change Clocks in 2019

Brazil Won't Change Clocks in 2019


Published 8-Apr-2019. Changed 28-Aug-2019


Daylight Saving Time has been permanently abolished in Brazil, according to the Senate bulletin of April 25, 2019.

There will be no further clock changes in Brazil in 2019. It is still unclear whether the country aims to abolish Daylight Saving Time (DST) altogether.

Illustration image

Rio will not change its clocks this year.

Rio de Janeiro is one of the locations in Brazil that has been regularly changing its clocks in past years.


No Clock Change in November 2019

According to a recent announcement, the country will not change its clocks for the upcoming DST period, which was scheduled to last from November 3, 2019 to February 16, 2020.

Uncertain Future for DST

It is expected, yet still uncertain, that the country will also halt all further clock changes. A government spokesperson stated that "this is the position for this year. For the next year, we will do further evaluation."

States Using DST in Brazil

Only some Brazilian states have observed yearly clock changes in the past. They are:

Time in Brazil

Brazil has four time zones, stretching from UTC-2 to UTC-5 (standard time):

  1. UTC-2: includes areas such as the archipelago of Fernando de Noronha.
  2. UTC-3: this is largest time zone, comprising eastern and central areas, and including all states bordering the Atlantic coast (except some islands), from Pará and Amapá in the north to Rio Grande do Sul in the south; includes the Brazilian Federal District with the capital Brasilia.
  3. UTC-4: includes the states of Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Rondônia, Roraima, and most of Amazonas.
  4. UTC-5: comprises the state of Acre and the westernmost part of Amazonas (west of Tabatinga / Porto Acre).

Current time in


Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Current time in


Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Current time in
Rio Branco


Wednesday, October 23, 2019

You might also like

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Business watch and one hundred dollar bill

History of DST

History of Daylight Savings Time (DST). Who invented it and in what year? What is the purpose of having a time change every year and when did Daylight Saving Time start? more

UTC – Coordinated Universal Time

Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) is the basis for civil time today. This 24-hour time standard is kept using highly precise atomic clocks combined with the Earth's rotation. more

GMT or BST in the UK?

The UK is not on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) all year. During Daylight Saving Time the correct time zone is British Summer Time (BST). more