Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   EU Parliament Votes to Re-Evaluate DST in Europe

EU Parliament Votes to Re-Evaluate DST in Europe


Published 9-Feb-2018

The European Parliament is urging the EU Commission to consider putting an end to setting the clocks back and forward 1 hour for Daylight Saving Time (DST).

Flags in front of the European Parliament in Strasbourg, France.

European Parliament in Strasbourg, France.

Flags in front of the building housing the European Parliament in Strasbourg, France.


Watered-Down Proposal

The 28-nation body approved a resolution to assess the merits of the yearly clock changes every spring and fall. The resolution passed the vote after 384 Members of the European Parliament (MEP) voted in favor, while 153 MEPs voted against.

A more stringent proposal, put forward by Finland, which called for a more straight-forward process of abolishing yearly clock changes, did not get a majority of the votes.

Pressures the EU Commission

With Thursday's vote, the EU Parliament puts pressure on the Union's regulatory body, the European Commission, to consider removing DST. In the past, the Commission has been reluctant to touch DST regulation in the European Union.

EU Time Would Still Be Unified

The Parliament added that any changes to DST rules in Europe should not disrupt the EU's unified clock regime. While Europe is divided into several time zones, most EU countries have synced their yearly clock changes since 1980. The resolution which has now been approved spells out that any changes to the DST schedule should affect all countries equally and simultaneously.

Illustration image
Europe's time zones.
Europe's time zones.

Time Zones in Europe

Europe is divided into four main time zones, spanning from UTC/GMT to UTC+3.

In all states of the European Economic Area (EEA), except in Iceland, DST currently begins on the last Sunday in March and ends on the last Sunday in October each year. This includes non-EU countries like Switzerland and Norway. Iceland is the only EEA state without clock changes.


Current time in


Thursday, March 21, 2019

Current time in


Thursday, March 21, 2019

You might also like

When Is the Equinox?

When Is the Equinox?

The Vernal (Spring) Equinox in the Northern Hemisphere is the Autumnal (Fall) Equinox in the Southern Hemisphere. more

Try the Night Sky Map!

Try the Night Sky Map!

Find and track planets in the sky with our new Interactive Night Sky Map. Point your mobile at the sky to follow an object, or play around with the timeline. more

 Worm Moon in March

Worm Moon in March

The Full Moon in March is the Worm Moon. It is also called Lenten Moon, Crow Moon, Crust Moon, Chaste Moon, Sugar Moon, and Sap Moon. more