Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Russia Changes Time Zone in Siberia

Russia Changes Time Zone in Siberia


Published 5-Jan-2016

Russia will change the time zone of Zabaykalski Krai in Siberia. Clocks there will be turned forward by one hour from 02:00 (2 am) to 03:00 (3 am) on March 27, 2016.

Railway station in the city Chita in Siberia, Russia.

Chita in Siberia, Russia.

Railway station in the city of Chita in Siberia, Russia.

©bigstockphoto.com/Dmitry Nautilus

Affected cities include Zabaykalsk and the Krai's administrative center, Chita.

Time Zones in Russia

New Time Zone

The change will push Zabaykalsky Krai in the Trans-Baikal Territory in Siberia from today's time zone Irkutsk Time (IRKT) to Yakutsk Time (YAKT).

This changes the UTC offset from UTC +8 to UTC +9. Neighboring Mongolia and China currently have the same time as Zabaykalski Krai but will be one hour behind after the switch.

More Proposed New Time Zones

Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a federal law changing the time zone in Zabaykalsky Krai on December 30, 2015.

There are several more regions in Russia that have submitted draft bills proposing changes to their time zones. These proposals still need to go through the stages of the legislative process and finally be signed by the president.

It is uncertain if and when the time zones will be changed:

  • Zabaykalsky Krai, UTC +8 to UTC +9
  • Astrakhan Oblast, UTC +3 to UTC +4
  • Sakhalin Oblast, UTC +10 to UTC +11
  • Ulyanovsk Oblast, UTC +3 to UTC +4
  • Altai Republic, UTC +6 to UTC +7
  • Altai Krai, UTC +6 to UTC +7
  • Magadan Oblast, UTC +10 to UTC +11

Russia has a history of time changes. Recently the country added two new time zones and stopped using Daylight Saving Time (DST).


Current time in


Saturday, September 22, 2018

Current time in


Saturday, September 22, 2018

Current time in


Saturday, September 22, 2018

You might also like

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

What Time Zone is Indiana?

The US state Indiana has 2 time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. Daylight Saving Time (DST) has been used since 2006. more

GMT or BST in the UK?

The UK is not on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) all year. During Daylight Saving Time the correct time zone is British Summer Time (BST). more