Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   São Tomé and Príncipe Returns to GMT

São Tomé and Príncipe Returns to GMT


Published 16-Jan-2019

The African island nation São Tomé and Príncipe has changed its local time back again to Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) after switching to West African Time (WAT) a year earlier.

Illustration image

São Tomé and Príncipe has gone back to its old time zone.

São Tomé and Príncipe is an island off the West African coast.


1 Hour Back

On January 1, 2019, clocks in São Tomé and Príncipe were set 1 hour back to Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), which is the same time as Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Last year, on January 1, 2018, São Tomé and Príncipe changed time zones to West African Time (WAT), which is 1 hour ahead of UTC.

Close to Solar Time

Both GMT and WAT are fairly close to the local solar time, with solar noon occurring about half an hour before 12:00 (noon) after the change and about half an hour after that time before the change.

No Daylight Saving Time

Many countries around the world change their clocks for Daylight Saving Time (DST) for parts of the year, but not São Tomé and Príncipe. Seasonal clock changes are fairly meaningless in the tropics, where day lengths hardly vary during the year.

Current time in
São Tomé


Friday, October 18, 2019


You might also like

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

UTC – Coordinated Universal Time

Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) is the basis for civil time today. This 24-hour time standard is kept using highly precise atomic clocks combined with the Earth's rotation. more

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

Time Zones in Indiana

In Indiana, USA, there are are two time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. All counties set their clocks one hour to and from Daylight Saving Time (DST) twice a year. Indiana time zone map with local time in each county. more