Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Alaska Considering Time Zone Change

Alaska Considering New Time Zone


Published 8-Apr-2016

A bill proposing to move the entire state to 1 time zone is advancing in Alaska Legislature.

Lifeboat cruising into Juneau, Alaska, United States.

Harbor of Juneau, Alaska in the US

Alaska is considering changing its time zone to Pacific Standard Time (PST). Harbor of Juneau, Alaska in the United States.


The bill proposes to shift the entire state of Alaska from its current 2 time zones to Pacific Standard Time (PST) and eliminating Daylight Saving Time (DST).

Same as California and Washington

A change would put Alaska on the same time as California and Washington in the winter months.

The House State Affairs Committee approved Senate Bill 6 on Thursday, April 7, 2016. The original bill was passed in March last year.

For the change to take effect Senate Bill 6 needs to be approved in the House Finance Committee, the full House, and the Senate. Finally, it is up to the U.S. Department of Transportation to give its stamp of approval.

Protests from Businesses

Both businesses and the tourism industry in Alaska have protested against the change, claiming that fewer daylight hours will have a negative effect on their business.

Pros and Cons of DST

Alaskans have a history of opposing DST. In 2010 a bill to remove DST in Alaska was defeated in the Alaska State Senate.

Time in Alaska

Today most of the state, including the capital, Juneau, uses Alaska Standard Time (AKST). It is 9 hours behind UTC. When DST is in force, clocks in Alaska are 8 hours behind UTC.

Parts of the Aleutian Islands in the far west of the state switch between Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HAST) and Hawaii-Aleutian Daylight Time (HADT)

In November 2015, the Metlakatla Indian Community moved from PST to Alaska Standard Time (AKST).


Current time in


Tuesday, January 15, 2019

Time Zone Map With DST

Time Zone Map

You might also like

Try Our iOS Eclipse App

Try Our iOS Eclipse App

With our Solar & Lunar Eclipses app for iOS you have all you need to get ready for the total lunar eclipse on January 20-21 in one free app. more

 Total Eclipse Supermoon

Total Eclipse Supermoon

The Wolf Moon, the Full Moon on January 20-21, 2019, is a Supermoon, making it look bigger and brighter than usual during the total lunar eclipse. more

Free 2019 Calendars to Print

Free 2019 Calendars to Print

Easy-to-use free printable Calendar PDF for over 220 countries. Make blank calendars or include holidays or events before saving, sharing, or printing. more