Home   Time Zones   Time Change Dates   Australia   Lord Howe Island
Flag for Australia

Clock Changes in Lord Howe Island, Lord Howe Island, Australia 2008

Next change:
0:30 hours Forward

Oct 6, 2024, 2:00 am

End DST: Sunday, April 6, 2008 — 0:30 hours backward
Start DST: Sunday, October 5, 2008 — 0:30 hours forward
Location of Lord Howe IslandLocation

Apr 6

Back 0:30 hours

Apr 6, 2008 - Daylight Saving Time Ended

When local daylight time was about to reach
Sunday, April 6, 2008, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned backward 0:30 hours to
Sunday, April 6, 2008, 1:30:00 am local standard time instead.

Also called Fall Back and Winter Time.

More info:
Confusion over Daylight Saving Time in Australia and New Zealand
Australia & New Zealand Start DST

Oct 5

Forward 0:30 hours

Oct 5, 2008 - Daylight Saving Time Started

When local standard time was about to reach
Sunday, October 5, 2008, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned forward 0:30 hours to
Sunday, October 5, 2008, 2:30:00 am local daylight time instead.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

More info:
Australia & New Zealand Start DST

Other years: 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011

When Does DST Start and End on Lord Howe Island?

During Daylight Saving Time (DST) the clocks on Lord Howe Island are set forward 30 minutes, not the normal whole hour, from UTC+10:30 to UTC+11. DST starts on the first Sunday of October and ends the first Sunday of April, the same as mainland Australia.

History of DST on Lord Howe Island

Lord Howe Island started using DST in 1971 at the same time as New South Wales. The clock was moved forward by a full hour according to the Standard Time Act 1971. In 1985, a governor’s order stated that DST on Lord Howe Island would be 30 minutes ahead of Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST), putting it on the same local time as NSW during the DST period.

DST operated nationally in Australia during World War I and for three periods during World War II.