Home   Time Zones   Time Change Dates   Australia
Flag for Australia

Time Change 2024 in Australia

Next change:
1 hour Forward

Oct 6, 2024, 2:00 am

In some areas of Australia

Country: Australia
Long Name: Commonwealth of Australia
Abbreviations: AU, AUS
Capital: Canberra
Time Zones: 5 (Main Country)
Total Time Zones: 8 (with dependencies)
Dial Code: +61

Note: Only some parts of Australia use DST in 2024.

Apr 7

Back 1 hour

Apr 7, 2024 - Daylight Saving Time Ended

When local daylight time was about to reach
Sunday, April 7, 2024, 3:00:00 am clocks were turned backward 1 hour to
Sunday, April 7, 2024, 2:00:00 am local standard time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour earlier on Apr 7, 2024 than the day before. There was more light in the morning and less light in the evening.

Also called Fall Back and Winter Time.

More info:
DST Ending in Australia

Oct 6

Forward 1 hour

Oct 6, 2024 - Daylight Saving Time Starts

When local standard time is about to reach
Sunday, October 6, 2024, 2:00:00 am clocks are turned forward 1 hour to
Sunday, October 6, 2024, 3:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset will be about 1 hour later on Oct 6, 2024 than the day before. There will be more light in the evening and less light in the morning.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

Other years: 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | 2026 | 2027

When Does DST Start and End in Australia?

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is used in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, and Victoria (see map). Here, it starts the 1st Sunday of October and ends the 1st Sunday of April.

Which States and Territories Don't Use DST?

Western Australia, Queensland, and the Northern Territory don't use DST, as shown in the map below.

Which States and Territories use Daylight Saving Time in 2024

Areas in Australia using DST in 2024
Areas in Australia on standard time all of 2024

DST in States and Territories in Australia (8 in total, 5 where all observe DST, 3 which don't observe DST)

Australian Capital TerritoryOct 6 – Apr 7QueenslandNo DSTVictoriaOct 6 – Apr 7
New South WalesOct 6 – Apr 7South AustraliaOct 6 – Apr 7Western AustraliaNo DST
Northern TerritoryNo DSTTasmaniaOct 6 – Apr 7

DST in Other Locations in Australia (1 Location)

Lord Howe IslandOct 6 – Apr 7 *
* DST is 30 minutes ahead of standard time.

Lord Howe Island's DST

Lord Howe Island is located about 600 kilometers (373 miles) northeast of Sydney. The island's DST schedule is in sync with the rest of Australia. However, the clocks go forward only 30 minutes, from UTC+10.30 to UTC+11.

Daylight Saving Time in Dependencies of Australia

DependencyTypeDaylight Saving Time Period
Christmas IslandTerritoryNo Daylight Saving Time
Cocos IslandsTerritoryNo Daylight Saving Time
Norfolk IslandTerritoryOct 6 – Apr 7 (Different dates than Australia)

Australian dependencies do not use DST.

Daylight Saving Time History in Australia

  • Australia first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1916.
  • Australia has observed DST for 63 years between 1916 and 2024 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1966.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics

On October 2, 1916, during World War I, Tasmania became the 1st state in Australia to use DST. The measure was applied in all Australian states and territories in 1917. It was removed in the whole country in 1918. Seasonal change was reintroduced during World War II, when it was used from 1942 to 1944.

After the end of the war, DST was not observed in any Australian state or territory until October 1, 1967, when Tasmania reintroduced it during a drought. The state has continued changing its clocks ever since.

In 1971, the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Victoria, and Queensland followed Tasmania.

Queensland abandoned DST already in 1972 and, with the exception of a trial from 1989 to 1992, it has not been in use. Western Australia conducted a DST trial from 2006 to 2009, but it was abandoned for its unpopularity. The Northern Territory has not used DST since 1944.