Home   Time Zones   Abbreviations   AEST – Australian Eastern Standard Time

Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST)

Also known as: Australian Eastern Time (AET) and Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT)

Caution: This is NOT the current local time in most locations in that time zone

Australia: Only some locations are currently on AEST because most places in this time zone are currently on summer time / daylight saving time and are observing AEDT.

Time zone map of AEST
Currently observing AEST.
Observes AEST part of the year.
Areas with same time currently (UTC +10).
Currently observing AEST – Australian Eastern Standard Time.
Observes AEST – Australian Eastern Standard Time part of the year, but not currently.
Currently has same time zone offset as AEST (UTC +10) but different time zone name.

Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) is 10 hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). This time zone is in use during standard time in: Australia.

See full time zone map

What Is Australian Eastern Standard Time?

Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) is the easternmost time zone in Australia. It is used in five Australian states and territories: Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Tasmania, Victoria, and Queensland.

Australian Eastern Standard Time shares a border with Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) in the west.

Australian Eastern Standard Time Zone

Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) is a standard time zone in use from the first Sunday in April to the first Sunday in October—when Daylight Saving Time (DST) is not in effect. Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) is used during the remainder of the year.

AEST Is the Australian Eastern Time Zone

In everyday usage, AEST is often referred to as Australian Eastern Time (AET) or the Australian Eastern Time Zone. This can add a bit of confusion as the term Australian Eastern Time does not differentiate between standard time and Daylight Saving Time, so Australian Eastern Time switches between AEST and AEDT in areas that use DST during part of the year.

Australia has two generic time zones that include both standard and daylight time: Australian Eastern Time (AET) and Australian Central Time (ACT). The country has a complex set of time zones, some of which have an unusual UTC offset.

Converting AEST to Other Australian Time Zones

Where and When is AEST Observed?


Australian states/territories using AEST in the winter and AEDT in the summer:

Australian states/territories using AEST all year:

Other Eastern Standard Time Zones

Time zones can have similar names and abbreviations but have a different UTC offset:

Other Time Zones in UTC +10

Some time zones exist that have the same offset as AEST, but can be found under a different name: