Home   Time Zones   World   USA   Florida
Flag for Florida

Time Zones in Florida, United States

1:26:17 am *

Monday, June 17, 2024

* Most of Florida

State: Florida
Abbreviation: FL
State Capital: Tallahassee
Country: United States
Time Zones: 2

Time Zones Currently Being Used in Florida

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC -5CDTCentral Daylight TimePensacolaMon, 12:26:17 am
UTC -4EDTEastern Daylight TimeMiamiMon, 1:26:17 am

There are Two Time Zones in Florida

There are two generic time zones observed in Florida: Eastern Time (ET) and Central Time (CT).

The southern and eastern parts of Florida observe Eastern Standard Time (EST) during standard time and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) during Daylight Saving Time (DST).

Only 10 counties in the northern and western part of Florida—known as the Panhandle—observe Central Standard Time (CST) and Central Daylight Time (CDT).

One county in the Florida Panhandle—Gulf County—observes both Eastern Time and Central Time. The southern portion of the county, with its largest city, Port St. Joe, uses Eastern Time, while Wewahitchka in the northern portion observes Central Time.

Generalized Time Zones in Florida

Time Zone Abbreviation & NameOffsetCurrent Time
CTCentral TimeUTC -6:00 / -5:00Mon, 12:26:17 am
ETEastern TimeUTC -5:00 / -4:00Mon, 1:26:17 am

Note: Local time in these time zones changes when Daylight Saving Time begins and ends.

Time Zones Not Currently Being Observed in Florida

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameCommences
UTC -6CSTCentral Standard TimeNov 3, 2024
UTC -5ESTEastern Standard TimeNov 3, 2024

The above time zones are used during other parts of the year. They will become active again after the next clock change as Daylight Saving Time begins or ends.

Monday, June 17, 2024