Home   Time Zones   World   USA   Indiana
Flag for Indiana

Time Zones in Indiana, United States

Multiple Time Zones

State: Indiana
Abbreviation: IN
State Capital: Indianapolis
Country: United States
Time Zones: 2

Time Zones Currently Being Used in Indiana

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC -6CSTCentral Standard TimePrincetonFri, 3:54:26 pm
UTC -5ESTEastern Standard TimeIndianapolisFri, 4:54:26 pm

How Many Time Zones Are There in Indiana?

Indiana has two time zones: Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Central Standard Time (CST) with the corresponding Daylight Saving Time (DST) designations, Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) and Central Daylight Time (CDT).

Generalized Time Zones in Indiana

Time Zone Abbreviation & NameOffsetCurrent Time
CTCentral TimeUTC -6:00 / -5:00Fri, 3:54:26 pm
ETEastern TimeUTC -5:00 / -4:00Fri, 4:54:26 pm

The time zones in the contiguous United States are often referred to by their generic name, without making a difference between standard time and DST designations. For example, Eastern Time (ET) refers to Eastern Standard Time (EST) or Eastern Daylight Time (EDT), depending on which is currently in use.

Note: Local time in these time zones changes when Daylight Saving Time begins and ends.

Time Zones Not Currently Being Observed in Indiana

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameCommences
UTC -5CDTCentral Daylight TimeMar 10, 2024
UTC -4EDTEastern Daylight TimeMar 10, 2024

The above time zones are used during other parts of the year. They will become active again after the next clock change as Daylight Saving Time begins or ends.

Time Zone History of Indiana

Time zones have been debated in Indiana since the US standardized them in 1918. However, since 2007 almost all of the state uses Eastern Time, except for some counties in the northwestern and southwestern regions of the state which use Central Time.

Friday, March 1, 2024