When Year 2024 Starts Around the World

With 38 different local times in use, it takes 26 hours for the New Year to encompass all time zones. Find out in which order they enter 2024 and which countries are first and last.

Scroll right to see more
 Fernando de Noronha
Time is
Countries Going Into Year 2024
at This Point in Time

Cities Entering Year 2024
Sun 8:00 amChristmas Island/KiribatiKiritimati
Sun 8:15 amChatham Islands/New ZealandChatham Islands
Sun 9:00 amNew Zealand with exceptions and 6 moreAuckland, Suva, Wellington, Nuku'alofa
Sun 10:00 amSmall region of Russia and 7 moreAnadyr, Funafuti, Yaren, Tarawa, Majuro
Sun 11:00 amMuch of Australia and 7 moreMelbourne, Sydney, Canberra, Honiara
Sun 11:30 amSmall region of AustraliaAdelaide, Broken Hill, Ceduna
Sun 12:00 noonQueensland/Australia and 6 moreBrisbane, Port Moresby, Hagåtña
Sun 12:30 pmNorthern Territory/AustraliaDarwin, Alice Springs, Tennant Creek
Sun 1:00 pmJapan, South Korea and 5 moreTokyo, Seoul, Pyongyang, Dili, Ngerulmud
Sun 1:15 pmWestern Australia/AustraliaEucla
Sun 2:00 pmChina, Philippines and 10 moreBeijing, Hong Kong, Manila, Singapore
Sun 3:00 pmMuch of Indonesia, Thailand and 7 moreJakarta, Bangkok, Hanoi, Phnom Penh
Sun 3:30 pmMyanmar and Cocos IslandsYangon, Naypyidaw, Mandalay, Bantam
Sun 4:00 pmBangladesh and 6 moreDhaka, Almaty, Bishkek, Thimphu, Astana
Sun 4:15 pmNepalKathmandu, Pokhara, Biratnagar, Dharan
Sun 4:30 pmIndia and Sri LankaNew Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Bengaluru
Sun 5:00 pmPakistan and 9 moreTashkent, Islamabad, Lahore, Karachi
Sun 5:30 pmAfghanistanKabul, Kandahar, Mazari Sharif, Herat
Sun 6:00 pmAzerbaijan and 8 moreDubai, Abu Dhabi, Muscat, Port Louis
Sun 6:30 pmIranTehran, Rasht, Esfahãn, Mashhad, Tabriz
Sun 7:00 pmMoscow/Russia and 23 moreMoscow, Ankara, Baghdad, Nairobi
Sun 8:00 pmGreece and 30 moreCairo, Athens, Bucharest, Johannesburg
Sun 9:00 pmGermany and 45 moreBrussels, Madrid, Paris, Rome, Algiers
Sun 10:00 pmUnited Kingdom and 24 moreLondon, Dublin, Lisbon, Accra, Reykjavik
Sun 11:00 pmCabo Verde and 2 morePraia, Ponta Delgada, Ittoqqortoormiit
Mon 12:00 midnightMost of Greenland and 2 moreNuuk, King Edward Point, Qaanaaq
Mon 1:00 amMost of Brazil, Argentina and 8 moreBuenos Aires, Rio de Janeiro, Santiago
Mon 1:30 amNewfoundland and Labrador/CanadaSt. John's, Mary's Harbour
Mon 2:00 amSome regions of Canada and 29 moreCaracas, La Paz, San Juan, Santo Domingo
Mon 3:00 amRegions of USA and 14 moreNew York, Washington DC, Detroit, Havana
Mon 4:00 amRegions of USA and 9 moreMexico City, Chicago, Guatemala City
Mon 5:00 amSome regions of USA and 2 moreCalgary, Denver, Edmonton, Phoenix
Mon 6:00 amRegions of USA and 4 moreLos Angeles, San Francisco, Las Vegas
Mon 7:00 amAlaska/USA and regions of French PolynesiaAnchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau, Unalaska
Mon 7:30 amMarquesas Islands/French PolynesiaTaiohae
Mon 8:00 amSmall region of USA and 2 moreHonolulu, Rarotonga, Adak, Papeete
Mon 9:00 amAmerican Samoa and 2 moreAlofi, Midway, Pago Pago
Mon 10:00 amMuch of US Minor Outlying IslandsBaker Island, Howland Island

Above is a chronological list of when the world's different countries arrive at midnight on New Year's Eve and enter January 1, 2024

The times can be changed to any time zone by clicking on the icon in the first column.