Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Oz & Kiwi DST Start 2017

Australia & New Zealand Start DST


Published 25-Sep-2017

Clocks in New Zealand and parts of Australia spring forward 1 hour in September and October as Daylight Saving Time (DST) starts.

Time Zones in Australia and New Zealand.

DST starts in Australia and New Zealand.

New Zealand started DST on September 24, 2017. The orange striped areas in Australia start DST on October 1, 2017.

  • Australia: Clocks in most areas will be set forward by 1 hour at 02:00 (2 am) to 03:00 (3 am), local time, on October 1, 2017.
  • New Zealand: Clocks were set forward countrywide by 1 hour at 02:00 (2 am) to 03:00 (3 am), local time, on September 24, 2017.

Australia's Clock Changes

Australia observes DST in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, and Victoria. Clocks in these areas will be set forward 1 hour.

On Lord Howe Island the time change is 30 minutes instead of 1 hour.

No DST in Parts of Australia

The northern and western parts of Australia do not use DST, so the clocks will not change in Queensland, the Northern Territory, and Western Australia. The same is the case in Australian dependencies Christmas Island, Cocos Island, and Norfolk Island.

New Zealand Starts First

All of New Zealand, including Auckland, Christchurch, and Wellington, start DST one week earlier than Australia and changed on September 24, 2017.

The Chatham Islands, in New Zealand's second time zone, have changed from 02:45 (2:45 am) to 03:45 (3:45 am), local time.

The New Zealand dependency Tokelau does not use DST.

Samoa Starts DST

Another country that started Daylight Saving Time on September 24, 2017 was Samoa. Clocks there were set forward from 03:00 (3 am) to 04:00 (4 am), local time.

When Does DST End Again?

DST in Australia runs from the first Sunday in October to the first Sunday in April each year. DST will end again on April 1, 2018. Although New Zealand starts DST 1 week earlier, it also ends on April 1, 2018. Kiwis observe DST from the last Sunday in September to the first Sunday in April.


Current time in


Monday, October 21, 2019

Current time in


Monday, October 21, 2019

Current time in


Monday, October 21, 2019

You might also like

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Calendar with 12 months

12 Months of the Year

The 12 months of the year are linked to the Moon's orbit around Earth. Why are there 12 months? What do the month names mean? more

Business watch and one hundred dollar bill

History of DST

History of Daylight Savings Time (DST). Who invented it and in what year? What is the purpose of having a time change every year and when did Daylight Saving Time start? more

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

Time Zones in Indiana

In Indiana, USA, there are are two time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. All counties set their clocks one hour to and from Daylight Saving Time (DST) twice a year. Indiana time zone map with local time in each county. more