Home   Time Zones   Half Hour and 45-Minute Time Zones

Half Hour and 45-Minute Time Zones

While most time zones differ from Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) by a number of full hours, there are also a few time zones with both 30-minute and 45-minute offsets.

Illustration image
Illustration image

Green and yellow areas have offsets of 30 or 45 minutes.

The local time in a time zone is defined by its difference from Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), the world's time standard.

Not Only Whole Hours

A country in the UTC+3 time zone is 3 hours ahead of UTC; in the UTC-8 time zone, clocks are 8 hours behind UTC.

However, some countries and territories use uneven UTC offsets that differ by 30 or 45 minutes from the usual one-hour time zone interval.

Daylight Saving Time

Regions that use Daylight Saving Time (DST) change the time zone during the DST period. The words "daylight" or "summer" are then usually included in the time zone name.

The areas that don't use DST remain on their standard time all year.

India: UTC +5:30

Time Zone Info: India

Australian States:

Australia has multiple time zones. Some of them are half-hour and quarter-hour time zones. Not all states and territories use DST.

Time Zone Info: Australia

Northern Territory: UTC +9:30

Eucla: UTC +8:45

South Australia: UTC +9:30 / +10:30

Broken Hill: UTC +9:30 / +10:30

Lord Howe Island: UTC +10:30 / +11:00

Cocos (Keeling) Islands: UTC +06:30

New Zealand, Chatham Islands: UTC +12:45 / +13:45

Time Zone Info: New Zealand

Canada, Newfoundland: UTC -3:30 / -2:30

Time Zone Info: Canada

Sri Lanka: UTC +5:30

Time Zone Info: Sri Lanka

Afghanistan: UTC +4:30

Time Zone Info: Afghanistan

Iran: UTC +3:30 / +4:30

Time Zone Info: Iran

Myanmar: UTC +6:30

Time Zone Info: Myanmar

Nepal: UTC +5:45

Time Zone Info: Nepal

French Polynesia, Marquesas Islands: UTC -9:30

Time Zone Info: France

Historic Half-Hour Offsets

North Korea adopted Pyongyang Time (PYT) on August 15, 2015. The time zone had a UTC offset of +8:30. On May 5, 2018, North Korea returned to Korea Standard Time, which is UTC +9:00.

Time Zone Info: North Korea

Venezuela changed its time zone by 30 minutes on May 1, 2016. The UTC-offset of Venezuelan Standard Time (VET) went from UTC -4:30 to UTC -4:00.

Time Zone Info: Venezuela

Topics: Time Zone