Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Middle East & North Africa DST 2014

Middle East & North Africa DST 2014


Published 26-Mar-2014

Most countries in the Middle East and North Africa that apply seasonal (DST) changeas will set their clocks forward one hour between March 28 and March 31, 2014.

Illustration image

Nejmeh square in Beirut, Lebanon

Clock tower on Nejmeh square in Beirut, Lebanon


Upcoming DST switches around the world

Get an overview with our Time Zone Map

Many areas switch on March 28

Clocks in the Palestinian territories, Jordan, and Syria will be advanced by one hour from midnight between Thursday, March 27 and Friday, March 28, 2014 to 1:00 a.m. (01:00) local time. Affected cities include:

In 2013, Jordan had reversed its decision to stay on DST year-round.

Israel will begin observing DST the same night, but the switch will occur at 2:00 a.m. (02:00) local time, when clocks will be advanced to 3:00 a.m. (03:00).

Lebanon & Morocco: March 30

The DST period in Lebanon and its capital city, Beirut, will begin at midnight between Saturday, March 29 and Sunday, March 30, 2014.

Moroccans will advance their clocks on Sunday, March 30, when they spring forward one hour at 2:00 a.m. (02:00) local time. As in past years, Morocco is expected to suspend DST during the month of Ramadan. The precise dates and times have not yet been announced.

Turkey springs forward on March 31

Turkey was initially scheduled to begin observing DST on March 30, together with most European countries. However, the switch was delayed by one day this year because of local elections. Clocks there will now be advanced by one hour from 3:00 a.m. (03:00) to 4:00 a.m. (04:00) local time on Monday, March 31, 2014.

Libya & Iran are already on DST

The Libyan government decided in 2013 to observe DST year-round. The local time there will therefore not be advanced again in 2014.

Iran switched to DST at midnight between Friday, March 21 and Saturday, March 22, 2014, when clocks were advanced to 1:00 a.m. (01:00) local time.

Countries without DST

The following Middle Eastern and North African countries do not observe DST:

  • Algeria
  • Tunisia
  • Egypt
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Iraq
  • Kuwait
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Oman
  • Yemen

Is it called Daylight Saving or Daylight Savings Time?

In This Article


You might also like

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Calendar with 12 months

12 Months of the Year

The 12 months of the year are linked to the Moon's orbit around Earth. Why are there 12 months? What do the month names mean? more

Business watch and one hundred dollar bill

History of DST

History of Daylight Savings Time (DST). Who invented it and in what year? What is the purpose of having a time change every year and when did Daylight Saving Time start? more

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

Time Zones in Indiana

In Indiana, USA, there are are two time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. All counties set their clocks one hour to and from Daylight Saving Time (DST) twice a year. Indiana time zone map with local time in each county. more